Class action lawsuit filed against true.com

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/show/news_press_release,121814.shtml

A lawsuit has been filed against TrueBeginnings, LLC, the owner and operator of the True.com online dating website. The lawsuit seeks certification of a class action on behalf of True.com customers who were charged service fees by True.com after cancelling their subscriptions.TrueBeginnings, LLC is a Texas-based company, that claims to have millions of subscribers to its online dating website, True.com.

The complaint alleges that True.com charges its customers monthly service fees in excess of $50 per month, and that True.com charges its customers’ credit card or bank accounts for these fees. True.com advertises on its website that memberships can be cancelled at any time. However, the complaint alleges that True.com does not accept cancellations in writing or on its website. Instead, True.com will only accept cancellation requests made over the phone. The complaint alleges that True.com bills its former subscribers service fees, even after those subscribers have attempted to cancel their subscriptions over the phone, and that this is done without the knowledge or authorization of the former subscribers.

91 Responses to “Class action lawsuit filed against true.com”

  1. doolally Says:

    The whole not taking cancellations over the phone seems shady to me and just an excuse to to string out subscriptions. it’s not so easy to prove you called to cancel than sending an email which you would have a copy of.

    Would have thought it would be more costly too having to pay people to man the phones.

    I find it strange that an online company does not have facilities to cancel subscriptions online.

  2. doolally Says:

    “The whole not taking cancellations over the phone” was meant to be
    “The whole only taking cancellations over the phone”

  3. Class action lawsuit filed against True.com » Online Dating Insider Says:

    [...] email. Your comments and suggestions for stories welcomed. I saw this in my newsreader but Markus beat me to it:  A lawsuit has been filed against TrueBeginnings, LLC, the owner and operator of the True.com [...]

  4. Lovin.mobi » Class action lawsuit filed against True.com Says:

    [...] saw this in my newsreader but Markus beat me to it:  A lawsuit has been filed against TrueBeginnings, LLC, the owner and operator of the True.com [...]

  5. Joe Tracy (Online Dating Magazine) Says:

    I’ve read the lawsuit and have published excerpts of it on Online Dating Magazine. A lot of things hidden in the Terms of Service of True.com seem very shady. For example, they basically say that contesting to your credit card a charge from True.com could result in you owing True.com $1,000. Then there’s the extra “services” they charge you for like Coaching. Supposedly if you cancelled, but clicked on a link they sent you (indicating someone was itnerested in you), you were automatically billed again without your authorization.

    We’ve received more complaints about True.com’s practices than any other Online Dating Service. Second is eHarmony. We have yet to receive any complaints about Plenty Of Fish. :-)

  6. FYI Says:

    Interesting. The coach is Herb Vest’s wife, Kerensa. I also found a comment about True.com claim of endorsement by PT on The Lazy Genius:
    Looks like another deceptive trade practice of theirs!

    e-mailed PSYCHOLOGY TODAY and the rep there wrote me that PSYCHOLOGY TODAY does NOT endorse True.com. They only endorse one of the questionaires used by True.com. Herb Vest,multi-millionaire owner of True.com needs a class action lawsuit for scamming the lonely hearts. He is a FRAUD with no morals,no ethics,and certainly no conscience. Wells Fargo paid him $84,000,000 for his interest in an accounting business,so why does he need to be scamming people ? He “donated” $ 25,000 to the Texas Attorney General in 2000. He has made numerous other very large donations to other politicians since then. Another Jack Abramoff? True will report married people and felons to IC3 ? Malarky ! Someone needs to report Herb Vest and all past and present employees of True.com and any affiliated businesses to IC3…..especially the FBI group. “Dallas man behind computer dating bill” is a story in the April 27,2005 edition of “www.DallasNews.com/sharedcontent/dws/news/texassouthwest/legislature/stories/04…” True claims 10 million members….mostly computer generated,I presume. Spoofed Profiles is True.com’s modus operandi !!! I read somewhere that Wells Fargo has a $10,000,000 lawsuit against him. Maybe that is his need to scam the lonely hearts. LET’S TAKE A BITE OUTTA CRIME !!!

  7. Kat Mills Says:

    I tried True.com on a trial basis and canceled after a week. I was getting emails that said this person or that person were interested in getting to know me. I would answer the email and get a negative response back from the actual person. The emails were contrived by True and I felt that it was misleading.

    Having to call in to cancel, go through a lengthy hold time, deal with high pressure to keep the subscription, and the sheer annoyance of the situation will keep me from doing any further business with the company.

    I’ve tried several other sites. True was not the only site to use these sorts of tactics. I know that no dating site will be perfect, however there are things I do expect. The first is not to be mislead.

  8. stephen ladabauche Says:

    True.com is the worst type of fraud. Fake e-mails, fake promises, fraudulent billing, spam by the carload. Everything and any way they can possibly separate you from your money. I suppose it’s a matter of “Let the buyer beware”. You have to remember that True.com only makes money if they don’t deliver what they promise. What a scam.

  9. ???????? Says:

    I work for true.com and can assure everyone its not a scam… we are payed very well to keep members safe and help them find love… We clearly state all charges and cancellation options to you in the terms and conditions when you first submit credit card info… and all the comments about the owner (most) of them are unfounded…

  10. EXPOSED Says:

    The affiliates that True.com and Herb Vest owe money to may need to filed a class action lawsuit. They better file it pretty quick too! There is another lawsuit against Herb Vest and the detective business he started and used to stalk the ex-fiancee. Teresa Koehlar vs Herb Vest and H.D. Vest Investigations,LLC, the 192nd District Court, Dallas Texas. Case# 07-10005. I wonder if all the legal problems and bills are behind the reason True.com won’t/can’t paid their bills? Vest’s 2 sons that bailed him out of trouble with 7.5 millions have tried for several years to get their money back, but Vest refuses and basically disowned them. My investigations have discovered Vest and his wife chartering a yacht that cost around $250,000 a week as long as a month. Yet can’t paid his bills! The IRS should check True.com’s taxes for personal travel, personal legal fees and personal employees to start with on the company dime.

    Vest has stalked his ex-fiancee for years and there are documents, photos, videos, bills, invoices, and depositions to prove it. Beginning in July 2001. The documents show over 5 years of Vest stalking her even after Vest got married. The lead detective goes on in the depo to say Vest loved her and not his now wife. Vest has had as many as 7 people following at one time and as long as 3 months. Vest’s personal history of womanizing, threesomes with lesbians, and hookers are reflected in his ads. Can’t hide your spots!

    Vest and his attorney have flat out lied to the courts and sent a letter to the court that it was “untrue.” Vest and his attorney claimed in the courts that Vest gave the fiancee 2 million beginning in 1996. Now Vest can decide who he lied and defrauded the IRS and SEC or the fiancee and the courts? Something tells me either way Vest is going to having more and bigger legal fees. I also suspect by the end of the year Vest will be in prison. He has to decide if it will be Federal or State prison now.

    Vest’s two sons loaned Vest 7.5 million when he was in financial trouble. Now Vest has disowned his sons and refused to repay. Vest has even gone as far as telling them to “prove it” and “sue me” Vest was the trustee on his oldest son’s account and without permission or knowledge that account was cleaned out by Vest. Vest’s own mother accused him of fraud and forgery by signing her name to a note issued to her when she helped her son start his business. More tax fraud on a publicly traded company?

    If Vest does this to the people that love him and he claimed to love. Is it that hard to believe that he would lie and deceive his customers and affiliates?

    Vest is living large in Dallas with a new 300K+ Maybanc car and new home in the works of millions. He hasn’t paid a dime to his sons and in fact left one holding the bag for his current home. They are broke and he is riding around in a 300K car. I wonder if the car is titled to True.com or Vest

    There is a class action lawsuit against True.com filed in Dallas. If you have been ripped off by True.com contact: filed by Washington D.C. based Tycko & Zavareei LLP along with Dallas, Texas based Crews, Shepherd & McCarty LLP. District Court of Dallas County, Texas, and is titled “Wong v. True Beginnings, LLC.” True Beginnings, LLC. Vest also goes by HDVE.

    It is time for the FBI, IRS, SEC, DTP, Dallas DA and Texas DA to investigate Mr. Vest.

  11. Steve Says:

    True.com is using Craigs list to fish for new suckers. They are posting ads on CL in the personals , if you reply to them they send you sexy photo with a link to True.com. The person who supposedly wrote the ad is fake, not a real person. they some very good writers, who ever they are. Some adds are quite creative. When you click on the link in the email you receive from the fake person it takes you right to the CC sign up page for True.com. Its a clever scam and fortunately I smelled it before I took the bait.

  12. ???? Says:

    You guys are idiots lol! If you could only borrow some money from Mr. Vest to buy a clue the world would be better…

  13. ????? Says:

    http://www.prnewswire.com/cgi-bin/stories.pl?ACCT=104&STORY=/www/story/03-29-2007/0004555834&EDATE

    Why doesn’t everyone read this and talk about this a little bit. You guys NEVER talk about this? plentyoffish.com is where u will get scammed! true takes care of its members!!!

  14. Kpossible Says:

    True.com is a scam, and the users arent’ screened at all. They falsely charged my credit card many times after calling and cancelling months previous. They clearly saw that my account was inactive and that I hadn’t been using the account. Yet they still refused to credit my card back for the months the falsely billed my charge card for.

  15. EXPOSED Says:

    Update on Vest, the guy is off his meds again. Thought/Thinks his wife was/is cheating on him. Wonder if he hired detectives?

    Bought a new house and moved out while out telling his son that he con into loaning him money for True more then three years ago. Vest was to paid rent, but never did and now his son is in debt and broke because of his dad. Vest then took 2.5 million from his oldest son with out his knowledge. Vest’s name was on the Trust account.

    Good news! The IRS, SEC, and FBI are investigating Vest and a long history of illegal activities both business and personal. Documents from the lawsuits from the ex and her cooperation with agents may send him to prison and bring her a nice size reward. Good for her! Her main goal has been to stop Vest from destroying the lives of people that loved Vest. Vest ripping off people just wanting to find love and happiness and ripping off his own mother, children, and ex-wife she felt she didn’t have a choice but to go to the proper agencies. Vest can thank his attorney for some damaging information he include in court documents. I understand a conversion with another attorney at the firm also set the ex on the path to the IRS. Her background is in accounting, taxes, and financial matters and knows some things about tax laws. Maybe she was put in his life for a reason.

    Anyone that signs up with True.com is crazier then Vest! If I were Vest I would start mending fences pretty fast!

    ???? if Vest has so much money then why is he ripping of his kids, mother, customers?

  16. TRUE.COM are crooks Says:

    Below is an example of a TRUE.COM bait. They are obviously thieves. I used my spam email address and registered for free – the user name in the email doesn’t even exist.

    ——
    Hey you :),

    I’m sorry if I took a while to get back to you… I got A WHOLE LOT of responses, and, believe it or not, I actually took the time to read every single one and play process of elimination a little bit, before deciding who I was going to reply to.

    Needless to say, I’m a little picky, lol. First impressions are everything to me, and, sadly, I wish more guys could approach me the way you did =)

    i was kind of in a rush when i was putting up my craigslist ad, so i put up the first pic i found, which is kind of old. i’ve actually been hitting the gym as of late, so I don’t really look like that anymore. I’m having issues sending/receiving attachments with this stupid email program (aaaah why does Google do this to me??? lol),

    but thankfully i put all the photos up on http://RomanceCorner.net/True i’m actually pretty active in that community, and aside from my pix, I also put up my blogs and other writings. Take a look at it and learn a little more about me. Just look for username Jennifer185, I’m wearing a blue dress in my default pic. You might have to sign up first if you don’t already have an account yet, but it’s free, just like myspace.

    i’m gonna stop now before i write an entire book, lol. but seriously, i need to get to class, i have a presentation to give… wish me luck! i’m gonna check my account right after class, hopefully i’ll see you online.

    I hope to talk to you later,
    Jennifer

  17. Drew Says:

    Hey wait, Jennifer185 is mine! She sent the SAME EMAIL TO ME! YOU CAN’T HAVE HER!

    Actually, go for it, shes a total tramp.

  18. Al4321 Says:

    does anyone know the law firm that took these guys to court?

  19. legal bud Says:

    First, I know that Cory’ s fund is empty, and that he was hoping to be able to buy his children some Christmas presents. Keep in mind, this is not a legal defense fund. Covington and Burling is covering all of his legal expenses. This is a fund that enables Cory to pay for his family to come visit him, buy things from the prison canteen, and buy gifts for his kids. You can send a check to:

  20. J Says:

    OK I feel like an idiot. I really thought she was real. I did not nor will I ever sign up for anything though I admit I was skeptical but that is why I did not use my real address. What a damn nerve – J

  21. E Says:

    Regarding Jennifer185 , what is the connection between True.com and RomanceCorner.net ? She’s obviously still running the same scam, but are the two websites related?

    Fake e-mails, fake promises, fraudulent billing, spam by the carload…buyer beware, indeed…

  22. ... Says:

    TRUE.COM are crooks: It might interest you to know they work through craigslist too. I responded to an ad on there, and got the exact same response you posted. Already suspicious, I goolged the screen name, which lead me to this page. Not the brightest scamers in the world these guys.

  23. J Says:

    After reading this I did a test. I wrote a very curse heavy e-mail in answer to the personal ad, and got the same scam. Thats what I get for trying craigslist I think its funny though. I do feel bad for people who fall for it and don’t do a check like I did. You know what all I have to say is what goes around comes around, one day they will get theirs. Oh yeah great Expectations, Its Just Lunch, Staten Island Singles.net among others are all fraudulent scam companies do not bother with them. They will harass you and call you and try to take your money

  24. peter John Kign Says:

    hey jennifer185 is a really bad girl- she just wrote me after i responded to a craigslist ad!

  25. EmmGee Says:

    I tried true.com, on the gay/lesbian parallel site. So, here’s a slightly different perspective:

    I tried true.com because I was getting sick of married and NOT SINGLE guys hitting on me. I thought it might be a good place to meet potentially good men, that might want a future, beyond 10 minutes and a few spasms. However, there was a catch. It was the same EXACT people I saw on other sites. The descriptions and profiles were the same. The problem was, no pictures and few people filled out their profiles beyond the “basics” platform. With this in mind, I didn’t get matches. The 2 that were most compatible, I previously dated, unsuccessfully. That really anchored my point on the first day of the trial. I called and cancelled the free trial within an hour of using the site. I explained what I said earlier.

    I had a “free profile” on their site and kept getting those fake winks too. They made it look like the person who looked at my profile was actually interested. This was not the case. I read the e-mail I recieved from within true.com’s e-mail system. I come to find out, through someone named “KOMESHRI” that those are auto generated. I asked to not get the e-mails.

    I was told that there was no way to stop the e-mails. I hated them. They are fake and not really from the other user who looked at my profile. If the e-mail was real, the person who sent it did not fil out a profile with interests and other compatibility parts of the profile. All but 2 people who “winked” had no pics. Only 1 other person had a filled out profile, other than myself.

    When I told them this info, I was called a racist. Not exacty sure how this came about, but it escalated as I complained higher up. I also got transferred back to the person who called me racist, which I was told should never have happened. But birds of a feather do stick together.

    Then I complained again. I could not get on the site with features “KOMESHRI” set up. This was the 2nd time of talking to her. I got a nice black dude, who I had not problems with. He gave me extra free time. all seemed fine.

    Then I got a message saying “we are sad to see you go” because I wanted those fake e-mails to stop, a day prior. yes this was a 2 day thing.

    I then called back, the racial thing started again… and not by me. I then talked to some white girl “Kelly”. I explained that the racial stuff was not called for and that is the reason i’m definitely cancelling for good. I would never recommend or go back on the site again. She litterall read my beads for being racial. I could understand if I had been racially obtuse. Bu the reality was, I wasn’t. I also noted that “kelly” in the cancellations department somehow thought it was a good idea to bring up that her husband is balck. That had no berring on anything I was canceling about.

    Hold on, it gets better from here on….

    After asking for a supervisor, I got disconeected.

    I called back, asked for another supervisor. I got transfored to “RHONDA” in “escalation.” I began to tell Rhonda what happend, then Kelly came on the line and siad “I waslistening to your last call with “sherry” too.” and prceeded to tell me how she would not take any crap from me.

    With that being said, I heard a “click” and then a message “THIS MAILBOX IS FULL, Please leave a message now.” The message disn’t make sense.

    I basically was refused to complain, via “Kelly” in cancellations, who was listening to all of my calls.

    I then did a search, found out the phone number scheme they used. I called the 404-4899″ phone number and heard “ad Shuffle”. I looked up “ad Shuffle” and saw that HERB VEST was involved. I then called Ad Shuffle’s number. They gave me the correct TRUE.COM corporate number. That number is (973) 374-9348. Ask for “Escalations”

    I then got Rhonda again. I explained that we spoke earlier. She confirmed and DID NOT KNOW that Kelly listened in and hung up the call. She confirmed that “Kelly” took over the call, which she was not supposed to, or allowed to.

    But needless to say, I got my complaint out there. No telling what good it did to let Rhonda know. Only time will tell.

    SO, if ANYONE uses or thinks of using TRUE.COM, think twice. I still do not know if my CC will be billed, but they are in for a fight, if they do.

    One major note: The customer service lacks allot. That alone is not worth paying the hefty price.

    Even though they gave free time on the site, I still canceled. A bad service and a bad site are just that… bad and not worth utilizing.

  26. FYI Says:

    Another lawsuit against Herb Vest. This time it is his son. Dad con him out of millions. Vest left his kid holding the bag on his home. Tells the court that his kid evicted him and his wife who was 8 mos with twins. When the truth is Dad and his wife moved out without telling him and has not talk to either son because he disowned them nearly 3 years ago. It was nearly 3 months before the son found out the house had been abandon. Vest bought a 3.3 million home and driving a 400K Maybach and left his son’s broke!

    Hopefully the oldest will soon file not only for fraud, but embezzlement. Dan’s name was on his Trust account, so Dad helped himself to nearly 2.5 million.

    Vest has a lot more to worry about then all the lawsuits..he better start worry about keeping out of prison!

  27. FYI Says:

    EmmGee,

    you miss printed the phone number. The main line is (972) 374-9348. Everyone needs to call and ask for Herb Vest to file their complaints. I would also contact your credit card companys to close account and file a fraud complaint against True. CC’s send a form for you to sign. CCs file charge backs against the company.

  28. FYI Says:

    Anyone notice that the comment from ???? Says is from True.com? Sounds like Kerensa, but I don’t put it passed Herb Vest either.

  29. FYI Says:

    I checked out he link that ???? Says…it was a PR release from True.com about how they are suing a convicted felon for using their site.

    To me this points out that True’s background checks don’t work! Who knows how many felons and married people are on the site? You spend 50+ bucks for a service that doesn’t even work and that Herb Vest himself admits has problems billing and background checks. True says they run checks with the credit cards that are used. That is NOT a TRUE background check. Why is True so expensive? Vest claimed it only cost a buck fifty and all dating site could afford the cost? Also, what happen to the claim Vest made about “being a wholesome and safe place for courtship”? True’s ad are borderline porn! To me that brings in the sex addictions, pervs, and felons? Wholesome and safe? Hell, you have to worry about getting ripped off by True with there fake winks and charging your cards months after you canceled. They are lying about endorsement from PT. True is using their tests for more then match making. The test don’t even work. True claimed their dating coach (Vest wife) was free, but now in the fine print they are charging 99 cents for coaching weather you use it or not! People need to read the Class Action Lawsuit aganist True to found out more Deceptive Trade Practices.

    All these business lies and fraud and Vest ripping off his own family members should tell people not to trust True. I wouldn’t Trust any PR releases True puts out there they are self serving and BULL!

  30. Jaggenser Says:

    Got the same e-mail from Jennifer185 read:

    Hey Sweetie :),

    Sorry I took so long getting back to you… but as you can imagine, I got A WHOLE LOT of responses, and, since I really want to have a good time, I went through every single email and eliminated the guys I didn’t think I’d have a good time with and play process of elimination a little bit, before deciding who I was going to reply to.

    Obviously, I’m a little picky, lol. You made a geat impression on me, wish more guys knew how to approach a girl the way you did =)

    Well before we get together, I’m sure you want to see what I look like so you know you’re not wasting your time. I really want to get these pictures to you, but I’m having trouble sending/receiving attachments with this stupid email program (wish I was one of those chicks who was computer saavy)
    Thankfully i put all the photos up on http://RomanceCorner.net/Jennifer185 i’m pretty active in this community. Aside from my pix, I put up my blogs and other writings so you can learn a little more about me. Look for my username which is: Jennifer185, I’m wearing a cute short, blue dress in my default pic. You might have to sign up first (if you don’t already have an account) but don’t worry, it’s free, it’s just like myspace.

    Ok I’m gonna zip up now before I write an entire book, lol. So after you check out my pix and get back to me, I’ll send you my phone #. I’m excited to hook up for fun. I just know we’re going to have a great time.

    I’ll talk to you soon,
    Jennifer

    Are any of the things on craigslist real?Hey Sweetie :),

    Sorry I took so long getting back to you… but as you can imagine, I got A WHOLE LOT of responses, and, since I really want to have a good time, I went through every single email and eliminated the guys I didn’t think I’d have a good time with and play process of elimination a little bit, before deciding who I was going to reply to.

    Obviously, I’m a little picky, lol. You made a geat impression on me, wish more guys knew how to approach a girl the way you did =)

    Well before we get together, I’m sure you want to see what I look like so you know you’re not wasting your time. I really want to get these pictures to you, but I’m having trouble sending/receiving attachments with this stupid email program (wish I was one of those chicks who was computer saavy)
    Thankfully i put all the photos up on http://RomanceCorner.net/Jennifer185 i’m pretty active in this community. Aside from my pix, I put up my blogs and other writings so you can learn a little more about me. Look for my username which is: Jennifer185, I’m wearing a cute short, blue dress in my default pic. You might have to sign up first (if you don’t already have an account) but don’t worry, it’s free, it’s just like myspace.

    Ok I’m gonna zip up now before I write an entire book, lol. So after you check out my pix and get back to me, I’ll send you my phone #. I’m excited to hook up for fun. I just know we’re going to have a great time.

    I’ll talk to you soon,
    Jennifer

    Are any of the ads on craigslist real?

  31. ????? Says:

    So “FYI” you are an idiot that prolly doesnt have much of an education. Understandable, neither does a lot of Americans. This is not Herb Vest or his wife this is an employee who works here and is tired of people like you giving us a bad rap. Below is another story showing our site works. With over 25 million members sir, not everyone will be happy. We strive for that to happen but it doesnt always go that way. Ill post more in the future!

    http://www.nydailynews.com/lifestyle/weddings/2008/07/27/2008-07-27_nina_johnson__robert_sieglitz_-3.html

  32. FYI Says:

    Seams I hit a nerve? I did get it right….you are from True.com. As to your childish insults…who cares! As to bad Rap….True.com did that all it’s own. Millions have been defrauded and have taken action. America is speaking out against True.com to warn and protect others. If you think True.com has 25 million paying members then you are the idiot!

    Even Herb Vest knows his days are numbered. The class action lawsuit and the government is chipping away at True.com. Herb Vest has decided to start paying his kids back their money he defrauded and embezzled from them.

    Herb Vest is obviously having a cash flow problem. He took a 3 million dollar mortgage out on the new house. He agreed to start restitutions with his son as long as they don’t talk about what he did for the next for years he’ll throw a couple of bucks their way. If he had the money then why not pay the nearly 5 million he defrauded and embezzled from them? Could it be to keep the boys quite?

    You don’t have a clue what is going on! Their is an insider…but it isn’t you!

  33. Hopper Says:

    The United State District Court for the Northern District of Texas (Dallas) has ruled a class action lawsuit against Irving-based Internet dating service True.com can proceed.

    In an order signed on December 3, 2008, Judge David C. Godbey denied True.com’s motion for summary judgment on Thomas Wong’s class action lawsuit for (1) violation of the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act, (2) unjust enrichment, (3) money had and received, and (4) breach of contract. The order in Thomas Wong v. TrueBeginnings, LLC, Case No. 3:07-cv-01244-N is attached. Internet dating service giant True.com was started by Dallas entrepreneur Herb Vest.

    Plaintiff’s attorney is Jon G. Shepherd, Alston & Bird LLP, 220 Ross Avenue, Suite 4650W, Dallas Texas, 214-432-7771.

    Defense counsel is Gary D. Eisenstat and John M. Barcus, Figari & Davenport, 3400 Bank of America Plaza, 901 Main Street, LB 125, Dallas Texas, 214-939-2000

  34. Hopper Says:

    In the class action lawsuit filed against Irving-based online matchmaking giant True.com, plaintiff’s counsel has moved to add RICO claims to the lawsuit. The following excerpt is from the attached motion to amend the complaint:

    Specifically, the First Amended Complaint alleges a claim under the Racketeer Influenced Corrupt Organizations Act, 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961-1968 (“RICO”). The First Amended Complaint alleges that defendant True
    Beginnings LLC (“True”) committed wire fraud and bank fraud—which are “predicate acts” under RICO—in two ways: (1) through its “auto subscription” function, by submitting Visa and MasterCard charges to financial institutions when the holders of the Visa and MasterCard accounts (namely, True’s ex-subscribers) had not authorized those charges; and (2) by engaging in a scheme to defraud Visa and MasterCard by artificially increasing the number of monthly
    Visa and MasterCard charges, and thus artificially reducing its “chargeback ratio,” through the use of reloadable “gift cards” purchased in the names of True’s top executives and their spouses.

  35. Tamica Says:

    I tried to cancel a trial membership that hadn’t expired yet, and was charged $70 some bucks, when I saw the charge I immediately called them, all they did was tell me that i had 6 months free- I had to tell the lady about 20 times that I had already canceled membership- she wasn’t even listening to me, she kept on about the “free months” when I mentioned that I was gonna sue them she hung up on me, thats why they want you to call to cancel, so there’s no paper trail.

  36. Mike Says:

    I called to cancel my account they claimed I was a day late, They then proceeded to charge when I complained the lady said she would give me the month free. Instead she charged me and gave me second month free, I am on unemployment at the moment and told them I didn’t have the money they took it out any way now hit with over draft charge to, these people need to be stopped or regulated.

  37. The Dude Says:

    I was just notified by my C.C. company that there was a possible fraudulent charge, which was paid to a “True Beginnings” dating site. I haven’t used that C.C. in over two years, so I knew it was a fraud. I just hope this doesn’t come back, and hit me again.

  38. natewood Says:

    I just stubled across this site after responding to a craigs list personal. Watch for this one:
    Hello there!
    You wont even believe how excited I am to get a half way decent reply back to this. At first my inbox was getting killed with pictures of guys gentitilia, like I have time for that!
    ANYWAY….
    My name is Jennifer. Im a very fun person. Im glad to get a response like I said already. I would really like to chat with you. I like chat because its easy to get to know eachother at first. Do you use RC? Its just like myspace but with out the little kid stuff. Its like more so for singles. I have a profile and some very recent photos of myself. I also have blogs and poems, ya know? Heres a link http://RomanceCorner.net Hopefully you already have an account there. If not you can just make one because its free. Hope you do, I really wanna here from ya!!!!
    I typically login to my profile a few times a day ( I know, I have no life…lol ) but im on standby right now because my girlfriends flight has been cancelled. So if im not around by the time you get this just message my profile from yours. My profile name is Jenn09hxox. Or you can send me another email with your profile name after you make one and I will message you…
    Okay well I have to go.
    Really cant wait to meet,
    Jennifer
    P.S.
    not to be mean…but if your only looking for sex, please dont lead me on. i dont wanna be hurt.

  39. kracker Says:

    just got this from JennyPie05 a.k.a. Jennifer185 a.k.a. Jenn Holden from craigslist:

    Hello there!
    You wont even believe how excited I am to get a half way decent reply back to this. At first my inbox was getting killed with pictures of guys gentitilia, like I have time for that!
    ANYWAY….
    My name is Jennifer. Im a very fun person. Im glad to get a response like I said already. I would really like to chat with you. I like chat because its easy to get to know eachother at first. Do you use RC? Its just like myspace but with out the little kid stuff. Its like more so for singles. I have a profile and some very recent photos of myself. I also have blogs and poems, ya know? Heres a link http://RomanceCorner.net Hopefully you already have an account there. If not you can just make one because its free. Hope you do, I really wanna here from ya!!!!
    I typically login to my profile a few times a day ( I know, I have no life…lol ) but im on standby right now because my girlfriends flight has been cancelled. So if im not around by the time you get this just message my profile from yours. My profile name is Jenn09hxox. Or you can send me another email with your profile name after you make one and I will message you…
    Okay well I have to go.
    Really cant wait to meet,
    Jennifer
    P.S.
    not to be mean…but if your only looking for sex, please dont lead me on. i dont wanna be hurt.

  40. Irene Says:

    SCAM!!!!! here’s what i got:
    Hello there!
    You wont even believe how excited I am to get a half way decent reply back to this. At first my inbox was getting killed with pictures of guys gentitilia, like I have time for that!
    ANYWAY….

    My name is Sarah. Im a very fun person. Im glad to get a response like I said already. I would really like to chat with you. I like chat because its easy to get to know eachother at first. Do you use Meet Me chat? Its just like myspace but with out the little kid stuff. Its like more so for singles. I have a profile and some very recent photos of myself. I also have blogs and poems, ya know? Heres a link http://meetmechat.com Hopefully you already have an account there. If not you can just make one because its free.Hope you do, I really wanna here from ya!!!!

    I typically login to my profile a few times a day ( I know, I have no life…lol ) but im on standby right now because my girlfriends flight has been cancelled. So if im not around by the time you get this just message my profile from yours. My profile name is sara26hxox. Or you can send me another email with your profile name after you make one and I will message you…

    Okay well I have to go.
    Really cant wait to meet :)

    Sarah

    P.S.
    not to be mean…but if your only looking for sex, please dont lead me on. i dont wanna be hurt.

    • laxplyr Says:

      i got the same thing that irene did! what a joke! ppl are looking for anyway to make a quick buck..scamming bastards!

  41. Mike Says:

    Yep i got the sarah one too.

  42. Bill Says:

    I can’t believe so many people actually gave up their credit card numbers to get their “free trials”. You really don’t have to be on the site long, as a nonsubscriber, to realize that the site is fake! I mean I feel sorry for you, but you really should be more careful and think/not rush into these things. When all these fake ads start off by talking about the message you sent them, and you didn’t send them a message, it should be obvious. There ARE scams out there. I certainly hope you don’t fall for the email scams that promise millions of dollars if you only send them a few hundred.

    That said, this site is disgusting. The fact that these fake accounts and messages exist to lure helpless and unsuspecting people in should be enough for a lawsuit. But clearly there is so much more BS. I don’t know how long it’s been there, but there is a way to “cancel” your membership online. Unfortunately it DOES NOT actually DO anything. You’d think that it would actually remove you from their database, or at the very least mark your account as inactive. So why does the address of my free account, which I canceled, keep getting emails? I guess I should call them up and complain, but I get the feeling that it won’t do anything.

  43. Mark Gibson Says:

    friend of mine got charged $68 without even knowing what the hell true.com was.

  44. Tony Branch Says:

    I will never tell anyone to use True because of their illegal business practices. I keep getting emails even after I cancelled, because I met someone. I deleted the emails out of my personal email account and they said that’s what caused my member profile to be reactivated- with out me knowing it and was billed. I called to complain and thier reason for not refunding me was that a email was sent out that I never saw. I was already married at the time and they offered me 2 free months time on the site. What kind of service is that?

  45. Terry Says:

    you know, i’ve been reading around and you’re making quite a few enemies….very interesting, i wonder why that is. are you selling my inof without my consent, i think so.

  46. jessie smith Says:

    think they are charging my acount as well

  47. JD Says:

    Here’s the version of I that I got. Same letter but linked to a different website . What a bunch of aholes .

    Hello there :),

    You won’t believe how excited I am to get a half way decent reply back to this. At first my inbox was getting killed with pictures of naked guys, if i wanted to see that i would have put on a porno!
    ANYWAYS
    Let me introduce myself. My name is Jennifer. Im a very fun person. Im glad to get a response like I said already. I would really like to chat with you. I like chat because its easy to get to know eachother at first before we meet. Do you use SC? Its just like myspace but with out the little kid stuff. Its made for singles. I have a profile and some very recent photos of myself on my profile. I also have blogs and poems, you know?

    Heres the link http://Singles-Spot.com

    Hopefully you already have an account there. If not you can just make one because its FREE. Hope you do, because I really wanna here from ya!
    I typically login to my profile a few times a day (I have no life, …lol) but I might be at work later today. So if im not around by the time you get this just message my profile from yours. My profile name is JennyHolder09. Or you can send me another email with your profile name after you make one and I will message you…

    Okay well I have to go.
    Really cant wait to meet,
    Jennifer
    P.S.
    not to be mean…but if your only looking for a bootycall, please dont lead me on. i dont wanna be hurt.

    RE: Sincere, fun-loving lady looking for her guy – 31 (new orleans)
    From: Jenny H. (JennHolder007@gmail.com)
    )

  48. acciredor Says:

    please excuse my english, it is not the best…

    Frogger is my favorite target dissemble, and I was by a hair’s breadth wondering if anyone here liked to play frogger.

    In action you want a teensy-weensy intelligence on the feign, know this:

    The encounter of Frogger brings back memories because of people in their forties. The game was such a classic it was even on an episode of Seinfeld. Who could forget George Costanza wheeling the Frogger across the boulevard vexing to conserve his high business, inspiring in and elsewhere of see trade reasonable like Frogger himself, however to from the game smashed up by a Mac truck. Now Frogger has transform into a favorite of people of all ages again thanks to the iPhone.

    Developed sooner than Konami Digital Pastime, who are also known seeking games like Calm Hill and Pro Evolvement Soccer, Frogger is a meeting produced in 1981 that diverse at the start started playing in the arcade and then in their homes. It has remained standard and you when one pleases see Frogger games on heterogeneous websites in every part of the internet smooth today.The Frogger iPhone app means you can now fiddle with wherever you go.

    The game was at going to be called “Highway Crossing Frog” but Sega didn’t intuit like this repute upheld the temperament of the round and marked to coppers the name to Frogger. Now the name of this game has pretty much become a household name. There is not scads people you run into that can sincerely mean they organize not in a million years heard of Frogger.

    Frogger as an iPhone effort is a expert suggestion and obviously a lyrical popular one. Frogger ranks as the number 8 most downloaded app in the iPhone app store. There have been varied reviewers who stated that the characteristic of the iPhone app was notable and gameplay compares to the original. While the graphics have all the hallmarks to be improved some reviewers pacify earmarks of to crave the possibility of being proficient to change the encounter filter to the 1980′s retro look of the original Frogger.

    From the 1980′s until instanter, Frogger seems to be suffering with stood the trial of time again in the video courageous entertainment industry. From the arcade to the playstation, and moment from the computer to the iPhone who yet remembrances that a bit untrained frog jumping in and out of traffic would soundless be renowned a place of a century later. Trendy thanks to the Apple iPhone you can play this deathless arcade stratagem wherever you are and wherever you go.

    Read a more in-depth assessment of the Frogger iPhone app here. Into more data on the best iPhone apps or to be familiar with more reviews of iPhone apps affect AppCraver today. AppCraver is dedicated to iPhone apps, expos‚, reviews and interviews with iPhone devotion developers.

  49. EXPOSED Says:

    Looks like True.com and Herb Vest world is falling apart. Just got this info about his marriage. Hell everyone around him knew he thought she was only after his money and was already cheating on him. Vest was engaged and he claimed he was single when he meet this girl. He cheated on her and then claims he is protecting customers from cheaters. Look what he did to his fiancee and family. If he will steal from them he’ll steal from anyone!

    He settled the class action lawsuit against True.com last March for 1.5 million. Under an agreement filed Friday, True.com will compensate customers who were incorrectly charged for services since 2003. Customers were incorrectly charged membership fees after canceling their accounts or after accidentally clicking on links, according to the federal lawsuit filed in the Northern District of Texas.

    The agreement still must be approved by U.S. District Judge David C. Godbey before the refund process can begin, said Jonathan Tycko, an attorney representing plaintiff Thomas Wong.

    Wong filed the lawsuit in June 2007, claiming he was billed at least three times by True.com after trying to cancel his membership. He claimed the company violated state and federal laws.

    The company charges members $49.99 per month to communicate via the Internet with single men and women.

    According to the settlement, True.com must revise its auto-subscription system to avoid future members from being accidentally charged.

    Both parties will identify eligible former customers and refer them to a Web site for refunds. Those charged one month of membership would receive $35 and those charged for more than two months would receive $50, according to court documents.

    Some members would also be given a free 45-day membership to the site.

    Tycko said at least 150,000 members are expected to get a cash or membership refund, but the number could grow once the agreement is finalized.

    “This was a hard fought case, but we accomplished everything that we wanted to,” he said.

    Gary D. Eisenstat, an attorney representing True.com, said the company believed it had a strong defense against Wong’s allegations, but decided it was more economical to settle the lawsuit.

    “This is a settlement that both sides can live with,” Eisenstat said today.

    Vest’s mother just died 3/5/2010 and he won’t go because he didn’t want to be around the sons he embezzled from or his soon to be ex gold digging cheating wife either.

    How virtuous can a company about “romance” be when, according to the 255th Family District Court in Dallas, all kinds of funny business was taking place in the CEOs house…? Kerensa Vest having an affair with the estate manager (in the court record), her husband likely doing the same with the stripper-turned-chef, before he had to move her out to manage estates for a couple of his friends.

    Not the wholesome definition of romance portrayed.

    True has been dead for a long time. He started another rip-off biz now.

  50. Luke Says:

    True is just another FRAUD web site.
    I receive twenty to thirty emails from women a day.
    Mailing them back. I never receive a response. I have set up fake accounts just to verify this statement and it proves tobe true.
    True email people on it own accord.Most all emails are NOT from the sender.
    SECONDLY: After canceling my subscription, they continue to debit my bank account.

  51. rick allen Says:

    four mo:tryed to cancel no responce no ph # how do i cancel and get some or all why bucks back …..i tried ????????

  52. EXPOSED Says:

    Nasty divorce for Herb Vest and wife #3. All his crap about saving marriage and he can’t save his own.

    TRUTH the answer to your Qs…insider info and public records.

  53. Derrick Says:

    I was recently ‘charged’ from True.com after I had “cancelled” months ago, but apparently I was never actually cancelled. What a rip! What a scam! How are these people lasting? How are these people surviving so long by scamming and ripping people off?! It is ridiculous and purely evil.

    I shall be calling tomorrow and, yet again, asking for a refund for the money that they essentially stole from me yet again.

  54. Tim Cusick Says:

    I was also charged after cancellation. The literally stole money off my credit card after I specificially told the to cancel the entire order. The cacellation phone call is so that their is no written record of their fraud, evfen after that they sent several emails illegally without any UNSUBSCRIBE option or other easy method to unsubscribe, I was directed to very confusing web page and somehow ‘resubscribed’, they subsequentially charged me a monthly fee for only one day of service.

    I will be filing complaint cases with Federal agencies as sending spam is illegal in the United States, I will also be filing a complaint with my bank and recommending this be persued as a crime.

    Their tatics are unreasonable and illegal. This company should be shutdown entirely. I can tell you owners and board members of True.com, that soon you will be shutdown, soon you will experience the worst of what you have created for so many of your users.

  55. Raymond Says:

    True.com is one of the most blatant super scams on the Internet… I never subscribed or gave them my CC card information… I received over 300 winks and email messages from bogus women… saying things like, “I love the way you look” and “Terrific profile!”… And I never posted a photo, or wrote anything in my profile !!!

    They are likely bilking millions from lonely heart suckers that actually believe, or desperately want to believe True.com’s marketing gimmicks so much that they give them their CC information.. at which point, True.com charges them $50 month, and a long list of surcharges for every chatroom visit and “test” taken… email sent… they are probably skilled at ensuring that everything they do is barely legal… but they’re the most ethically and morally corrupt organization I’ve ever seen… Except for the Obama Administration…

  56. Rod Says:

    I signed up for True.com a few years ago. This was a big mistake. They charged me for the service and I canceled the service. They have since charged me twice for the service even though I have not been on the site. I called to complain today and they said they would have to bill me for “services” rendered. The service representative said he was only a middle man when I became irritated. I am now on hold with my credit card company so that I could cancel my credit card.

  57. devlet hastaneleri Says:

    Paid dating sites are willing to Pay $12.00 a member for Females instead of the $4.00 on average they pay now. There are hundreds of examples about certain demographics being far more valuable then others.

  58. gelirler vergisi Says:

    from endlessly surfing to find cool stuff to surfing for information that is useful and relevant to them, ie surf like an adult.

  59. yer kaplamasi Says:

    The complaint alleges that True.com bills its former subscribers service fees, even after those subscribers have attempted to cancel their subscriptions over the phone, and that this is done without the knowledge or

  60. banka rehberi Says:

    a member for Females instead . There are hundreds of examples about certain demographics being far more valuable

  61. babyofeleven Says:

    I love the new look on plenty of fish. However, I do not have a computer, I only have a phone to access ur site. B4 the makeover, when I looked at a profile, the words fit on my screen. Even when I enlarged the text, it would re-format and all the text would fit. Now when I try to view a profile, I have to continually move right to left, and vice-versa. It’s very irritating, and I don’t want to stay on the site nearly as long. I hope someone sees this that cam fix it. I Didnt c a way to contact the site governors. Thank u.

  62. bad-accessoires Says:

    hundreds of examples about certain demographics being far more valuable then others.

  63. mantolama izolasyon Says:

    on its website that memberships can be cancelled at any time. However, the complaint alleges that True.com does not accept cancellations in writing or on it

  64. aluminyum Says:

    customer if they wanted to see any advertising at all. This is not the case.

  65. rehau Says:

    service fees, even after those subscribers have attempted to cancel their subscriptions over the phone, and that this is done without the knowledge or authorization of the former subscribers.

  66. mobilya Says:

    Paid dating sites are willing to Pay $12.00 a member for Females instead of the $4.00 on average they pay now. There are hundreds of examples about certain demographics being far more valuable then others.

  67. dunya rehberi Says:

    to vote again within a set number of days to keep the influence of what gets on the front page driven by a larger pool of users and interest. Games are a perfect example, some times it seems every 3rd post is about games.

  68. sorgula sorgulama Says:

    Even when I enlarged the text, it would re-format and all the text would fit. Now when I try to view a profile, I have to continually move right

  69. toyota çıkma parça Says:

    toyota çıkma parca 2006 corolla hurda belgeli aracımızdan istediğiniz parcayı satın alabilirsiniz

  70. hasan burkay Says:

    Even when I enlarged the text, it would re-format and all the text would fit. Now when I try to view a profile, I have to continually move right

  71. kolonyali mendil Says:

    yes your site is really wonderful people have been searching for other web sites you’ve found it is getting very relieved to sweat, my eyes until my uncle no longer flows out of sleep refreshing towels cursor would follow you.

  72. Web Design California Says:

    Web Design California…

    Class action lawsuit filed against true.com « Plenty of fish blog…

  73. veteriner Says:

    There are veterinary clinic Maltepe district of Istanbul. Provide emergency ambulance services to better serve you.

  74. David Scaggs Says:

    So i am another victim wanting to vent out my feelings towards true.com, i was somehow added to their list over a month ago, and got charged freaking 60 bucks!, so i called and had it returned, and told them to remove me and they said i would not get another charge, HA!, yea right, they just charged me yet again, for another 60 bucks, this is such a scam, its not even funny, and they need to get taken down

  75. Crystal Says:

    I signed up for the 3 day free trial. I called and canceled the very next day because all the people “winking” at me were from out of state. They have taken $144.89 out of my account that I’m fighting very hard to get back. They are scammers big time. Apparently when I would look at a profile from the email I received it reactivated my account. What a crock!!!!!! They tell you that you can browse for free but my account is reactivated when I look at a profile from an email they sent me. This is a bunch of bs!!! You can’t cancel online because you would have proof then that you actually canceled the account!!!!

  76. dating review Says:

    dating review…

    [...]Class action lawsuit filed against true.com « Plenty of fish blog[...]…

  77. true|love|story Says:

    true|love|story…

    [...]Class action lawsuit filed against true.com « Plenty of fish blog[...]…

  78. hastane otomasyonu Says:

    you issues in this sense is obviously a very good site is full suits me very carefully, but with are more intensive follow-up will have mixed commentss and are you teacher mothers ?

  79. tabelaci Says:

    Burada Seo halkları thanke. hause

  80. pimapen Says:

    Burada Seo halkları thanke. hause

  81. funny pictures and jokes Says:

    funny pictures and jokes…

    [...]Class action lawsuit filed against true.com « Plenty of fish blog[...]…

  82. spring rolls Says:

    spring rolls…

    [...]Class action lawsuit filed against true.com « Plenty of fish blog[...]…

  83. DOWNLOAD ROBOT FOREX GRATIS Says:

    DOWNLOAD ROBOT FOREX GRATIS…

    [...]Class action lawsuit filed against true.com « Plenty of fish blog[...]…

  84. elin2013 Says:

    They just did the same thing to me. I cancelled my membership May 2012 and just found out they kept on billing me until this months where I caught them…can somebody call me at 281-342-9999 (office) or 281-690-8333 (cellular) or e-mail me: elin@wwsoftwaresystems.com…..I want to join the class action lawsuit as I was going to sue them myself.

    Dr. Eli Nassar

  85. elin2013 Says:

    We should sue the owner of TRUE BEGINNING and his company and TRUE.COM itself. They are crooks and they deserve to be punished properly.

    Dr. Eli Nassar

  86. jakzun.com Says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web address and thought I should
    check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking over your web page yet again.

    • elin2013 Says:

      Contact me as a main witness. The crooks have done that to me. I cancelled my membership last year May (I think May 31, 2012) and they kept on charging my credit card all the way until I caught them sometime in January 2013.

      I will be a great solid witness due to my back ground as a businessman that owns one of the finest computer companies in the Country.

      cid:image001.jpg@01CCE67A.AEFE9420

    • elin2013 Says:

      cid:image001.jpg@01CCE67A.AEFE9420

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

