$38 Million for BlackPlanet.com MiGente.com, and AsianAve.com

Copied from paidcontent.   The URL on paid contents post starts with 419..  419 is another way of saying  black african scammers.   That is a pretty funny,  especially after I spent half the day  tracking down nigerians 

*************

CommunityConnect, one of the oldest social networks around (since 1996) which has been focused on different ethnic groups, has been sold to a non-obvious buyer: Radio One, the radio network focused on African-American and urban listeners, has bought it for about $38 million. CC owns BlackPlanet.com, MiGente.com, and AsianAve.com, and says has over 20 million members. Ben Sun, CCI’s president and founder, will continue to run the company.

RadioOne has about 53 radio stations located in 16 urban markets in the U.S. Additionally, Radio One owns Magazine One, which owns Giant Magazine, interests in TV One, a cable/satellite network programming primarily to African-Americans and others.

Rothschild was the banker for Radio One; Bear, Stearns was the banker to Community Connect.

38 Responses to “$38 Million for BlackPlanet.com MiGente.com, and AsianAve.com”

  1. Errol Mars Says:

    I was really expecting VIACOM to be the ones to buy CommunityConnect since it would have fit so well with their other assets BET/MTV.

  2. Zak Kinion Says:

    Heh, my friend almost got scammed by Nigerians last week. A girl he knew had her email account phished, and they emailed him with her identity, saying she was stuck in africa and needed money.

    I knew what it was right away, and stopped him after he sent the money, and we were able to get it back.

  3. Trends Depot Says:

    Yes, be careful of those nigerian scammers. The more we educate ourselves, the safer we are

  4. tay Says:

    Im sorry but im confused, this company bought blackplanet….. is that why im having trouble bringing up the website??

  5. Aaron Says:

    Still waiting for you to get back to me. My banner ad which used to run on your site stopped running, I don’t know why. I do not view our site as competition because we’re in a different category so if you blocked our ad, I don’t see why or you just stopped displaying banner ads? You should be able to see my email address. Please get back to me.

  6. shafi Says:

    hi,

    You should update your blog more often. It is very interesting. You can talk about sql indexing. Dont worry, I’m not making a date site..

    shafi

  7. luvshola Says:

    hi,
    i am a member of BP and during some days i cannot load the page of bp…says over timelimit and even with the IP i cannot reach bp…why?? am real disturbed cos most of my friends in there…??!!! what can i do ?i even contact my provider and they told me its the failure from bp not from my provider…so pls pls pls and pls..what can i do ?I NEED BLACKPLANET! HELP pls

    kindly, luvshola

  8. killaqueen76 Says:

    hi again…even migente is not reachable….why?

  9. TubeScrape Says:

    hm very interesting. thanks for the info.

  10. luvshola Says:

    Hey again…the page just work one day and than up to one week not reachable still same.. i even contact the bphelp@customhelp.com but no reply..i cant even reach bp above the IP adress…dont know whats the prob, cos my friends can browse it..but a lot of ppl complain cos all same problem..what is wrong with bp? did anyone had an answer?
    kindly, urs luvshola

  11. Maria Melo Says:

    I do not mind… blackplanet was sold… but I want my blackplanet… again, my friend of diferent part of world… Please…. where is my page… my poetry, my pictures, my friends… etc… T

  12. tosin Says:

    Blackplanet what happen, i found it hard to check my page,what happen to blackplanet. Pls i dont want to loose my friends in there on blackplanet, i av good friends in there.
    And to all other people saying nigeria are scammer, i belief there are some innocent one in there, who are not scammer, i got good friend on blackplanet and migente, and i never scammed them. They trusted me in there, they see me on webcam, and i gave them my cell number.

    NOTE TO ALL BP MEMBERS, IF U ARE INTERESTED IN ANY BODY, FROM ANY COUNTRY, NOTE THAT THE FIRST THING U NEED TO NO IS TOO SEE THEM ON WEBCAM. IF THEY REFUSE SHOWING ON WEBCAM, NOTE THEY ARE NOT REAL IN HERE. AM A NIGERIA LADY, AND I BELIVE IN MY SELF.

  13. natalie Says:

    Although I am a new user of Blackplanet it has been as experience. On the other hand, I have only been able to log in 1 time since I have had the page. It will always redirect, or make it impossible to login. Other than that, I have met some nice people on this site.

  14. MUSAADAMU Says:

    I LOOK FOR SINGLE PERSON OKAY

  15. DONI JAMES Says:

    The reality is that the majority of us will not be visiting Nigeria, and unfortunately the majority of mail coming to me from there is obvious lt from scammers, ie: my aunt needs and operation, i love you and i want to come there, send me money for a ticket and i will be your love slave etc. after-all how many beautiful people do you need to see with obviously scanned poor resolution pics ( not all but a lot) that are from nigeria and aquarius ( i dont know why but a ton of them are aquarius, and i can figure if thats because im aquarius or is it some weird scammer signal, who knows, or cares,but the bad thing is i notice without fail these scammers always are in the top of the search result pictures and when i sign in. my thing is if youre that good at getting placement isnt there more many in using this skill to make cash from banner placement or something?

  16. luvshola Says:

    hey again…
    it still dont work !!HEEEEEEELP!!
    I NEED MY PAGE BACK! SINCE THAT TIME I SIGN HERE FIRST ONLY MAY ONCE A WEEK I CAN LOGIN
    BUT SINCE TWO WEEKS NOW NOTHING!!????MEN THATS REAL BULLSHIT!
    WHAT HAPPEN THAT ALL MY FRIENDS EVEN AROUND MY AREA CAN BROWSE IT AND ME GOT ALWAYS PROBLEM???TO CONTACT BP HELP CUSTOMER SERVICE WELL::NO NEEDS COS U WONT GET AN ANSWER!LAZY PPL MEN AM REALLY PISSED OF COS OF ALL THAT! I MEAN THERE ARE A LOT OF OTHER PAGES LIKE BP WHICH SOMEONE CAN USE,BUT MUST IT BE LIKE THAT ???I DONT SIGN INTO PAGES AND MAKE FRIENDS TO LATER JUST GO AND JOIN ANOTHER PLACE! DAMN WHAT A BULLSHIT

    WOULD BE NICE AND TOOOO KIND IF ANY SOLUTION SOON AS POSSIBLE
    COS AM REAL PISSED OF AND AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO THINK SO!!

  17. Zhuge Says:

    So these sites were pourchased, only to take them down? No page from CC works anymore, thats going to be a great hit with users!!! “Lets spend 38 million and then afterwards make our investment worth ZERO”… good idea radio dudes!!! – ZL

  18. Donald Neville Says:

    love the site and hope you people may continue the good work

  19. anderson Says:

    hey,i don’t like the way u people under rate will black most expcially west africa,did u believe that people that come from Nigeria,Hey capital NO,my father is from Nigeria and i have visited them one’s there are lifely people they like white even care about them nut am black america,but i love black poeple they rule the world,i and obama and the rest we make the world a better place for all

  20. Cherry Connelly Says:

    What the hell is going on??? Please I need to know!!! NOW, why cant I log onto Blackplanet this is sooooo painfully frustrating. I just want to know what happened… have I done something to offend BP….. pleeease just let me know….. why is it really really really impossible to log onto this website. I may loose some really good friends because I am not able to respond to my mail. And why is it that BP have not bothered to contact me at all, I have left numerous emails and no reply. I’m really disappointed in you BP, you have let me down.

  21. cristian rafael Says:

    I REALLY THOUGHT I WAS THE ONE OF THE FEW THAT HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH LOADING MY BP PAGE. BUT I GUESS IM NOT. I DIDNT KNOW THEY HAD ACTUALLY SOLD THE COMPANY, BUT AS MANY OF YOU IM VERY UPSET AND FRUSTATED WITH BP AND bphelp@customhelp.com WHICH HAVE MADE NO EFFORT TO GIVE ME A RESPONSE TO MY QUESTIONS. I CAN’T EVEN GET TO THE LOGIN PAGE OF BP..SO IF ANYBODY WITH THIS SAME PROBLEM HAS FOUND ANY INFO PLEASE SEND ME AN EMAIL TO ELDON525@LIVE.COM…I JUST DONT UNDERSTAND WHY A WEBSITE TO WORK TO BECOME SO FAMOUS AND SUCCESSFUL AND THEN ALL THE SUDDEN BETRAY THOSE WHO MADE IT WHAT IT IS TODAY…

    THANKS

    CRIS

  22. I LUV BP!! Says:

    I havent been on BP in yonks and now that my computer is back in working mode BP decides to not upload on my computer.. aaarggghhhh!! Its on of the best social networking sites ever.. does anyone know of another black site.. lol!! or I’ll juss have to switch to facebook…

  23. BP Needs To Upgrade Says:

    BP doesn’t load for me either…. never had any problems with accessing the site till a week ago… they need to fix there problems or start losing more of it’s members… chea.

  24. Why BP WHY!!!! Says:

    Hey BP has been acting really crazy lately it. And has no method or reason. Mine Randomly works when it wants to. Like at 12:30 in the afternoon I can get on but Im at work most of the time. At night I cant even think about loging into BP. BUt i can still Ping the site and get a very fast responce. BP is not helping I think im going to write them a letter and see if I get a Responce that way. Do you think they even know baout the Problem?

  25. coco26_2008 Says:

    i cant get my blackplanet too log in either this is sooo fustrating how can i make it work i have so many messages i need to check damnit.

  26. ratdianu Says:

    ohhhhhhh….in fact Iam not the only one that having this login problem to BP…sniff..sniff…HELP!!!…HELP!!!…BP drive me crazy…
    the problem started about 5 months ago, The BP site was stuck, I couldn’t even access the BP or it always redirect to mywebsearch or google search or yahoosearch…damn!!..

    I thought the problem coming from my internet provider then I contacted them, but you know they ensured me there’s no problem with their server so far…and they decided there is some point: First, the main prob is coming from BP’s site itself , Second: BP site is blocking my Internet provider because perhaps they found out the Spammer or Hijacker using my internet provider IP and then they Blacklist and Blocking it…now they still trying to contact BP.

    Hopefully oneday soon, BP join and cooperate with such a BIG site like GOOGLE …so the BP site can be accesed easily worldwide

    Thus, still Thank God that even though I unable reach my BP..I still able to Acces it on the Internet Cafe…

    I can’t lose my very good friends over there…about Contacting BP …it’s so difficult, I am tired and almost give up…

    HELP…HELP…Iam so addict to this SITE…
    ratdianu@yahoo.com

  27. G Says:

    BP is f**king bullshyt… It never works. I’m only starting to use Myspace and Facebook. Atleast i can sign in and not have to worry about my page loading up and one time i had a problem with Facebook and i emailed the help and guess what, they emailed me back… Blackplanet needs to take notes

    And I’m a Nigerian and I do not do those scamming bullshyt emails, so don’t say all Nigerians. Cus they’re some Nigerians here in US living normal lives just like you not doing scammer things

  28. ANGRY MAN Says:

    I ALSO HAVE OFTEN PROBLEM ACCESSING THE BLACKPLANET.COM PAGE !

    what is the real reason really ?

    IS SOMEONE TRYING TO FRUSTRATE THE VISITERS SO THAT THEY ABANDON THE SITE ONE DAY ?

    IS THERE ANY CONSPIRACY, cia and the likes ?

  29. Me_2 Says:

    Yeah…me too…I haven’t been able to sign in to BP since around September 23, 2008. I will ask a BP friend to log onto my page in BP using my username and password and tell my friends how to contact me on my private email.

  30. she Says:

    Hello. Im from europe and I’m trying to log in into blackplanet.com for 2 weeks and i cant. I tried from different comps and even deifferent cities, but is the same thing everywhere. Could you pls help me bout it? Whats wrong with it?

  31. Air jordans Says:

    lol@ be careful of those Nigerins, funny but a lil harsh, cuz scammers dont have a single identity. Seems like blackplanet isn’t what it used to be. They should change the name along with it to painplanet

  32. NYCATL718 Says:

    Ive been trying to log on to my password for awhile and they dont respond. the password website in invalid. whats going on BP

  33. Kevin Says:

    Its down yet again…looks like I am going to stick with myspace.

  34. Ajbaby Says:

    Hey is it possible to sue blackplanet managers or probably they have CREDIT CRUNCH. Or it was sold to make way 4 facebook. But BP is da best ,hope to get ma BP friends back lets join to fight this.

  35. PIP Says:

    MAN I SEE ALOT OF PEOPLE HAVIN SAME PROBLEM WITH THIS SITE.I LIKED IT IT WAS OK BUT THEY START REJECTING MY PIC FOR NO REASON.A NORMAL FACE PIC.THERE IS NO CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER OR NOTHING.THEN IT ALREADY TAKES LIKE 2 DAYS FOR YOUR PIC TO GET APROVED JUST TO BE REJECTED FOR NO REASON.THIS SITE IS OK BUT IT REALLY STARTIN TO MAKE ME TURN TO SOME OTHER SITE WITH BETTER SERVICE FOR ITS CUSTOMERS.BP RAN BY ALOT OF WHITE FOLK NOW SO THEY REALLY DONT CARE ABOUT OUR WANTS OR NEEDS THEY JUST TRYIN MAKE MONEY!SUMN NEED HAPPEN…

  36. Teddy Remele Says:

    Lots of Fantastic information in your blogpost, I favorited your blog so I can visit again in the near future, All the Best, Teddy Remele

  37. eggie Says:

    Why cant i meet a girl who just wants to have sex !

  38. seretese Says:

    So the 50,000.00 I won on your lottery, is a scam!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    tdirector2

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

