Goodbye dating patents.

Looks like software patents in the US are about to be history,  or business method software patents…   I’m glad this invalidates many of the ridiculous patents  that have been used against dating sites lately.

http://www.reuters.com/article/marketsNews/idINN3026126020081030

16 Responses to “Goodbye dating patents.”

  1. Kebie Says:

    I enjoyed a few years ago being threatened with a lawsuit for providing downloadable video via WMVs on a website. Because apparently streamable internet video was patented.

  2. Matthew Kelly Says:

    Hi Markus:

    I am writing a book on those that have been successful in building businesses on line and social networking. I would appreciate the opportunity to interview you. One of the chapters is about on-line dating.

    If you could shoot me an email, I’ll send you the questions I’m trying to get answers to.

    Thanks,

    Matthew Kelly

  3. tirza Says:

    Hi Markus,

    Love the website, but since yesterday morning, my profile was deleted and I haven’t been able to log in – even after adding a new profile.

    Is it me? The website? Just connected with someone and didn’t exchange regular email addresses yet…

    HELP! :)

  4. Bea Says:

    Hi Marcus. LOVE LOVE LOVE the website but I can no longer create an account that doesn’t get deleted. I was on for about a year without a hitch, then I deleted my old account after a couple of months tried to create a new one and the longest I have keeped an account is about 3 days. I have tried using different computers, e-mails and have followed EVERY forum suggestion. I am asking for your help, I really want to be back on POF!! I know you must be really busy but if you can help me that would be great, thank you, Bea.

  5. Mike Says:

    Hi Markus,

    Just saw the thread. I read about how if you’re not original you get deleted. What do you have to do to keep an account? i was on pof for 2 years before my account was deleted and everytime i create one im deleted again.

    you’re missing out on revenue..i click your ads alot lol.

  6. joyinatlanta Says:

    I want to work for you!

    I am a dynamic business development consultant that is energized by what you do and what you say.

    Annie

  7. Markus Says:

    Mike, nigerian users were deleted on your IP.

    Rest of you are either spammers or someone who uploaded nude images… I looked up people in the system

  8. Bea Says:

    Hi Markus. I assure you I am not a spammer, wouldn’t even know how to do that! And I have NEVER I mean NEVER uploaded any nude pictures on your site or any other site. I am just a normal 42 year old mother of 2 that enjoyed your site previously, and would like to be back on again but for one reason or another, can’t keep a profile. I think there is some type of glitch, because I know of a lot of other “normal” people that are having problems also. I’m really nice and I have told all my friends about POF and how great it is, so I just wish I knew what the problem was. I won’t end this on a rude note, I have too much class for that. Thank you Markus for all that you do. B

  9. Trixie Says:

    Hi, I have pretty much the same story as everyone else.
    I used to have an account; deleted it when I entered a relationship; tried twice now to create a new account since I am single again.
    Never uploaded nude photos, or spammed or did anything untoward that I am aware of.
    Both times I received your welcome email, and both times was kicked out while editing my profile.
    It seemed like everything was ok, but then I can’t get back in despite lowering security settings and changing from Firefox to Explorer.
    Please advise.
    Regards,
    Trixie

  10. Jim Says:

    Hi Marcus.

    Same story as all of the above. I never uploaded a nude image, never spammed, never treated anyone online with any disrespect, heck, and I’ve never even visited nigeria.

    After my profile was deleted, I lost contact with several really awesome women because each time I’ve tired to create a different profile, they get deleted almost immediately, sometimes even before I’ve had a chance to finish filling out my profile.

    This is very discouraging, as I’ve recommended POF to several friends.

    I’ve also sent emails to your POF email address pleading for explanations and help, but never heard back.

    On a different note, I’m a software architect / developer, and I’ve also sent to your POF email address an offer to help debug and develop new features for your website. I never heard back from those offers, either.

    I’m hoping you or someone within your organization will contact me via the email address that accompanies this post, as you’ve got an awesome user base, and with some improvements to the reliability and usability, POF could reach significantly greater heights…

    Thanks,

    Jim

  11. Dean Says:

    I could start a rival dating site deletedfrmpof.com-it would be huge!!!

    just kidding :)

  12. RDog Says:

    Marcus,

    Just curious, have you thought about or tried to patent anything related to your site? Or any of your future ideas?

    I am curious about the process, I have an online system that I know is unique and would like to protect my intellectual property.

    Thanks,

    RDog

    P.S. – Would love if you would publish more about the technology you use specifically and how someone might create an optimized system like yours?

  13. Fish Killer Says:

    Hey Marcus what are you doing about the serial killer on your fish site that has been killing women. How is it that its not all over the place yet. Your system sucks and it can not stay free forever. You will be forced to charge a fee to stop these maniacs from killing again. I recommend a paid service. Marcus is only init for the money the ads provide for him. I have met marcus in person years back and he really needs to do something before he finds himself in a bad place.

  14. date nice people Says:

    date nice people…

    [...]Goodbye dating patents. « Plenty of fish blog[...]…

  15. Lilli Y. Worek Says:

    Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you
    if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog
    and look forward to new updates.

  16. Karl F. Lacson Says:

    It’s hard to find well-informed people about this subject,
    but you sound like you know what you’re talking about!

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

