Meetic and Match.

I found a strange press release from a billing company talking about meetic.   It seems that meetic has out sourced all billing to a third party ?   Can anyone shed any light on what exactly this is?

As for the match meetic deal,  details of the transaction are here

Meetic SA to buy Match.com International Ltd. from IAC/InterActiveCorp. for $110 million
Boulogne-Billancourt, France-based online dating service provider Meetic agreed to acquire Match.com International, known as (Match Europe, the UK-based European operations of Dallas-based online dating service provider Match.com. The seller is IAC/InterActiveCorp., the New York City-based E-commerce group, which is paying $16.9 per share for 6,094,334 new shares, along with promissory notes of $6.64 million, in a transaction that will give IAC a 26.8-percent stake in Meetic and 21.1 percent of its voting rights. The transaction is expected to close no later than June 30.”

I wonder what  be2,  parship  and eharmony will do this year…

30 Responses to “Meetic and Match.”

  1. Rob M. Says:

    Markus – Perhaps a little off-topic, but when I try to go to http://www.plentyoffish.com, I am getting an error message stating “bad request. Invalid hostname”. You might be aware, but if not, I wanted to let you know.
    Regards.
    Rob M.

  2. site not working! Says:

    Markus,

    I was able to get on the site last night from 11-2am but I’m now getting the same error message as Rob M.

    Error Message: Bad Request (Invalid Hostname)

    I hope that you are working to fix, because I made plans to go on a date tonight and I need to access the site to find out what time.

    Hope it’s an easy fix.

    Thank you for the site. I can’t thank you enough for creating such a great site and for your time in keeping it running.

  3. Linda Says:

    Hi Markus,
    First and foremost I’d like to thank you for your GREAT dating site! It is a wonderful resource for meeting people in my area and I LOVE the chat feature….it helps weed out the riff-raff!

    As stated above, I’ve tried several times over the last couple of hours to log in and receive the same error message.

    Question is: Are you okay? I know you run this site out of your home and I’m just making sure you are okay.

    Please try to send me an email to let me know!

    Thanks and keep up the good work…us single people need you!

    Take care,
    Linda

  4. Marian Says:

    Hi there,

    It is 4:45 pm. I am getting the following meesage:

    The webpage cannot be found… and when I click on more informaiton, it give me the following:

    This error (HTTP 400 Bad Request) means that Internet Explorer was able to connect to the web server, but the webpage could not be found because of a problem with the address.

    For more information about HTTP errors, see Help.

    Is all OK? Hopefully, it is an esay fix.

    Thanks and keep us the good work!

    M

  5. Pia Says:

    hey, what’s up with the bad host name? POF system not accessible for too long now.

  6. Sandy Says:

    What happened to POF website, I keep getting error message too! I received email notification that I had mail but I can not get access. OH NO, it might be MR Right!

  7. jo Says:

    awwww so very frustrating that….so trying to get in…..

    lol

    hope its fixed soon good luck

    xxx

  8. jo Says:

    awwwww….so very frustrating that…..so trying to get in…..

    lol

    hope it is fixed soon….

    good luck

    xxx

  9. Mac Says:

    Crash, I hope you do not burn.
    What ever would we do with out you. It is too cold here in DC to go out and search the streets for friends.
    Hope you get the bugs out quick.
    Mac

  10. Nancy Says:

    Hi Marcus

    Was gonna let you know the site isn’t coming up but I guess you know that by now.

    Also thank you so much for providing this service for all of us! I just joined two weeks ago. You are brilliant! :)

    By the way, have you found your fish?

    Nancy
    CountryHeart63

  11. Joe Says:

    It is down for me too!!!

  12. bruce Says:

    Marcus,
    I need my POF fix! Whats up with the site today? Im getting:Bad Request (Invalid Hostname)

  13. Paul E Says:

    Also getting the “Bad” response, At least you know you are popular Markus. Good luck with the fix
    P

  14. CMB Says:

    Also getting error message in Washington – USA problems or all over?

  15. POF Says:

    Should have hosted with Rackspace

  16. NK Says:

    Just when I meet a cool girl too! :(

  17. casualencountersblog Says:

    I can’t log in, HALP.

  18. casualencountersblog Says:

    Okay everything back to normal. Breathing again.

  19. Toon-c Says:

    yeah ..
    look at http://voila.fr/
    a big frensh site ..
    supporting meetic for example ..

  20. world cities Says:

    Should have hosted with Rackspace

  21. Watch Year One Online Says:

    This is very up-to-date information. I think I’ll share it on Delicious.
    p.s. Year One is already on the Internet and you can watch it for free.

  22. Sandra Says:

    Hello to All! I the lonely young girl. In search my love! If who that wishes to get acquainted with me that write to me on sweet_sweet56@yahoo.ca

  23. Jack Henry Says:

    This can be a I enjoy examples of the articles which have been written, and especially the comments posted! I will come back!

  24. Fish Killer Says:

    Hey Marcus what are you doing about the serial killer on your fish site that has been killing women. How is it that its not all over the place yet. Your system sucks and it can not stay free forever. You will be forced to charge a fee to stop these maniacs from killing again. I recommend a paid service. Marcus is only init for the money the ads provide for him. I have met marcus in person years back and he really needs to do something before he finds himself in a bad place.

  25. Ole Kristian Olstad Says:

    I want and meldemeg out of Meetic with immediate end to the cover from my account. Ole Kristian Olstad

  26. Online ccna classes Says:

    I think its a perfect one.

  27. Medical apps Says:

    SO is this deal is done ?

  28. donald smith Says:

    i used my username and password and i can’t get in to the web site???? it was given to me by untrue .com

  29. cc Says:

    Well done Marcus. Everyone knows how much you make from Google Adwords and its perfectly justified – you ran a good/addictive site. So your comments/notice regarding wanting to remove all ads is bull. What you have done with the ‘viewed me’ aspect of the site i.e. trying to make your users pay for it will be the death of pof! Simple fact – you just got too greedy!

  30. Manali Tourism Says:

    I sincerely enjoyed studying it. Keep your website update and you have a regular visitor for lifetime. Good POF!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

