Got a few emails today about this scam… Its just some idiot i’ve never heard of before trying to sell his domain name. Who in their right mind would buy a .org anyways, isn’t it reserved for charities and non profits?
Advertisement
Got a few emails today about this scam… Its just some idiot i’ve never heard of before trying to sell his domain name. Who in their right mind would buy a .org anyways, isn’t it reserved for charities and non profits?
June 18, 2009 at 4:44 am |
It’s called press release, he is just looking to get some trafic!!!
“Early talks between the owners put the price range in the low to mid six-figure range. ” ,i wouldn’t pay more than xxx for that domain.
June 18, 2009 at 5:49 am |
I’m not condoning it, but it’s a pretty clever way to get some traffic.
June 18, 2009 at 7:49 pm |
This guy is just doing a marketing campaign. Apparently you don’t know much about domain names as .org is being used quite a bit, so is .tv and .org names and pretty much any domain name besides .gov or .edu is available for download and has been for years. Also, his advertising campaign must have worked if it got you, people on twitter and other places talking about it, going to his website and you even posting it on your blog. So essentially you just helped him out. Congratulations to you!
June 19, 2009 at 12:36 am |
It’s cheesy, but generating that kind of buzz with the press release may enable him to fish out a buyer willing to pay a decent price for the domain.
And yeah, .org is not a reserved domain extension. Any one can buy them at just about any domain registrar.
June 19, 2009 at 6:14 am |
sure you can buy them but using them is another matter, just look at craigslist trouble with maintaining the .org
June 19, 2009 at 6:32 pm |
I am not heard of this craigslist trouble with maintaining the .org Markus, could you provide a link to a news article etc?
March 7, 2010 at 12:29 am |
hi there,
i need help. i was on pof and i met with someone who stole both my laptop and cell phone and all records of conversations and emails have been deleted, blocked, or whatever. It has all vanished.
Please contact me. The police are involved and are already going through my phone records, etc to find this person.
Now they need the information from the site to get an IP address and press charges.
I can be reached at: kristinesp@hotmail.com
or 778-838-7989
March 12, 2010 at 2:26 am |
[...] Marriage Success Stories by …Comment on Rocketboom is not making $85000/week. by Keenan HolwayComment on Scams… by Kristine Tweet This Post No Comments »No comments yet.RSS feed for comments on this post. [...]
April 30, 2010 at 12:29 pm |
Hey Marcus what are you doing about the serial killer on your fish site that has been killing women. How is it that its not all over the place yet. Your system sucks and it can not stay free forever. You will be forced to charge a fee to stop these maniacs from killing again. I recommend a paid service. Marcus is only init for the money the ads provide for him. I have met marcus in person years back and he really needs to do something before he finds himself in a bad place.
November 12, 2011 at 10:05 pm |
Melbourne…
[...]Scams… « Plenty of fish blog[...]…
June 19, 2009 at 6:38 pm |
red face…. Markus sorry about spelling your name as Marcus.. Please edit or delete that post and don’t take offense. So sorry.