Adsense Breakdown

Its coming up on 8 years ago in a few weeks now since I posted a cheque for 900k for 2 months of adsense revenue.    I’m going to post the history of adsense from the day I added adsense to the site so that there is some context to how POF went from 1 pageview to billions.   Keep in mind by the time 2006 rolled around this was one revenue stream of many.    After I posted that cheque the site really exploded,  3 years later in May 2009 when I hired my first developer the site was  doing  2.2 Billion pageviews a month and we are over 10 billion a month today.    

Thinking back now I am amazed I was able to do what I did.   I spent at least 2 to 3 months of every year traveling,  and during this time there where insane scaling issues.  But somehow I still managed to create the largest dating site in the world without a single employee and travel the world!

I constantly hear from people that the cheque i posted back in 2006 inspired them to start a company,  I hope that this will continue to inspire people and for people to see success is not instant, it does take a little while and when you have a extremely successful company this is what the month by month looks like in the early days.

 
Click on the image to see the original adsense screen shot.

adsensepof2003

 

29 Responses to “Adsense Breakdown”

  1. hemant Says:

    wow that amount in 2006, hats off :)

  2. Alex Ivanovs Says:

    Good stuff, thanks for sharing the revenue. I wonder if people are able to make that much these days?

  3. Alex Ursitoare Says:

    What the heck, close to half a mil in the last report from 188 mil ads views. That’s astonishing !

  4. Unethical Hacks Says:

    Very much an inspiration for many. I very much recall you posting the $900k cheque.

  5. Plenty of Fish Was Earning $500k from AdSense in 2006 | CodeCondo Says:

    […] today, the Plenty of Fish management team published a blog post that displays their annual earnings, starting from mid-2003, all the way to early-2006. I […]

  6. Arbaz Khan Says:

    This is really inspiring! Making nearly half a million from Google Adsense and that too in 2006 would have been a real feat.

  7. Francisco Dans Says:

    Very interesting to see the spike at the beginning of each year. New year resolutions? Thanks for posting this.

  8. Will Says:

    Plenty of fish may have had a good start, but what about the next 8 years. IMHO, they have a huge flaw in their model, which dooms them…

  9. Luke Says:

    How much is the site making now?

    Your traffic is about 50x today than it was at the end of this post. Are you doing 50x the revenues per month now as well?

  10. Patrick Coombe Says:

    So glad they decided to post this. Hats off to them for keeping an account open that long ;)

  11. Mike Advidi Says:

    I remember the site was launched and I loved the business model being innovative for the dating market. You had a good vision and your went in it for the long haul. Great post!

  12. TR NS Says:

    How much were the hosting expenses to handle that many visitors at scale?

  13. Markus Frind for Startup President - Startups Anonymous Says:

    […] Stumbled across this gem from a Hackers News post: http://plentyoffish.wordpress.com/2014/05/12/adsense-breakdown/ […]

  14. Munish kapoor Says:

    How manu users were there on plentyoffish in 2006.

  15. 8perezm Says:

    That’s amazing thank you for sharing it. Read your story in Inc. Very inspirational!

  16. 8perezm Says:

    If you were an actor you’d be receiving an Oscar.

    The achievement of running a 2.0 website with 2.2 billion page views with just one person managing it and whilst improving the site, seems to me amazing.

    I’ve tried bootstrapping with 200k visits a month and that was super tough.

    Dude if I could give you an award I would.

    You are a Legend

  17. Zakiyun Says:

    Dahsyat sungguh klu dapat cmni

  18. Alex Says:

    Stop slacking Markus. While the updated blog.pof.com suffers from no user engagement. This blog, without posting in a year, starts spinning right away. Give people what they want, write where it’s heard. More on business insights, less on George Clooney.

  19. hopintop Says:

    this is awesome congrats to a job well done. looks to be well deserved. is there a certain strategy you are using that you would like to share?

  20. Yepi 4 Says:

    Your earnings amazing, congratulations.

  21. Frank Says:

    PLOT TWIST!

  22. Lucy Says:

    As there is no other way to get in touch with you or your company… please tell your customer service team to deal with their “inbox” ive emailed 15 times in the last 2 weeks, along with my lawyer due to a false account on your website bearing my name and pictures.

  23. Майская лента: лучшее за месяц Says:

    […] • Markus Frind оглядывается назад и с трудом верит собственному успеху в построении Plenty of fish – самого популярного сайта знакомств в мире. […]

  24. kathy Says:

    silly me but i checked pof and i don’t see any ads on the side or the website or anywhere else..where are they? hidden somewhere? or maybe they’re so small i missed them?

  25. Hildegard Says:

    Hello I am not very happy with POF the web site will not allow me to send messages to anyone it says that i am not connected to my server or have internet. also i was supposed to go on a date and cannot chat with him and because of the problem i may loose him…i was also someone hacked into my profile so i deleted that one made new one that one worked for a day then next day same thing no messages being seen

  26. Cheryl VanPatten Says:

    I need help resetting my password. I have been locked out. I haven’t been able to find any contact information to get help.

  27. greatreturn.net Says:

    awesome!! man

    great job u did started the site .. i know how hard is it .. to do
    and have the right focus to continued alone the work ..i hear u

    awesome post btw

    keep post like this ..really helps other great webmaster hope to continued man ..

  28. Cheryl VanPatten Says:

    I have asked help on June 24 and haven’t had any response. I have been blocked for some reason.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

