New Marketing Tactic.

I’m writing about dating way to much lately.   But I just saw this on match.com,   http://www.match.com/gsub/purchase.aspx

You can buy a gift subscription for someone else.    I wonder if this kind of thing will catch on.   I know it works for things like books  but will it work for services?   Match.com has been doing a lot of experimenting lately with its business model,  I wonder what is going on over there.

10 Responses to “New Marketing Tactic.”

  1. Chris Dorward Says:

    Yeh, the guardian use this technique to good effect on their soulmates website. The way it works is that anyone can contact anyoneone else in a very limited, one liner kind of way without membership. But say you are a member and you find someone you like. You contact them, and they get back to you with a one liner. You want to initiate proper contact, but that relies on the other user buying a membership. If you’re really keen you could by them a membership so that they can get in touch with you.

    Obviously the idea behind that that doesn’t apply to totally free sites like plentyoffish, but it works for the pay sites with numpty clients.

  2. Rush Says:

    I bought a year subscription to netflix for my dad but I think that is a little different since you actually receive a product. For dating sites I think it will flop.

  3. doolally Says:

    My Single friend does it (http://www.mysinglefriend.com)

    The whole concept of the site is to get friends you know to date online

  4. Gabriel Says:

    Flickr is offering “gift subscriptions” for a long time now (from the beginning?):
    http://flickr.com/help/limits/#86
    although it is only aimed towards existing (free) flickr members. But I don’t know how it works out for them.

  5. engtech Says:

    That would be a great way to break up with someone.

  6. John Says:

    Markus,

    Thought you’d find this interesting and would like to see your comments on it via a post, Yahoo Personals new partnership:
    http://biz.yahoo.com/bizj/061102/1370194.html?.v=1

  7. Markus Says:

    Not much to say about yahoo really. They are creating 6 verticale dating sites and they will take a while. The religious one is probably their best bet.

  8. Jason Says:

    When I was younger and lived with my parents, they would each year for Christmas give me a membership to a bodybuilding gym.

    That is the only service I have been given as a gift. I have given my wife such things as a gift certificate to have her nails done. Others give the gift of Swedish massage or tanning bed membership.

    I realize this is not quite the same thing. And I have a hard time imagining that Match.com’s offering will catch on.

    I would feel a bit awkward at Christmas time opening up an envelope from my mother with a letter that reads:

    “Dear Jason,

    Your father and I noticed that you are approaching 40 and have yet to marry. We would really like to have grandchildren.

    So, as a way to expedite things a bit, we got you a membership to match.com. Go ahead and look at the profile we’ve set up for you!

    Love,
    Mom and Dad.”

  9. The Mommy Says:

    I just had to comment on this. I can’t imagine giving or receiving this type of gift. Okay the wicked side of me agrees it would be very interesting way to break up with someone. It is worse than the blind date, it is the blind date with the whole site.

    I just realized something though my SIL asked for membership to another dating site for Christmas one year, but trust me when I say she isn’t representatives of what they want as clients.

  10. Josh Says:

    Jdate could do well with something like this! if I had a nickel for every time my mother offered to pay for my subscription so I could meet A Nice Jewish Girl…

Leave a Reply

