Microsoft Visits Plentyoffish. Watch the video.

http://channel9.msdn.com/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=331501#331501

3 Responses to “Microsoft Visits Plentyoffish. Watch the video.”

  1. No One Says:

    I’d love to see some more technical posts about what you do. Of course, on the surface I get what you’re saying but I’d love to read the detail of how you’re doing certain stuff.

  2. Chris Glahn Says:

    Mark – PlentyofFish is GREAT!!! Simplicity and function, plus free.
    One thing that really keeps me coming back is that it is free. There are too many sites that require a paid membership – but that may explain that even with the Internet and mainstream marketing they are still lagging behind.

    It would be more work on the backend but response based advertising would be my suggestion. I would not be bothered by a Google style list of ads based on my other profile answers. Based on activities, age likes/dislikes.

    I think you stand a unique chance of targeting advertising unlike most other web companies, because you collect more detailed demographic information than most sites collect to try and target their viewers.

    Just an idea.

  3. Andrew Says:

    Hi Markus,

    I watched the video and it was really great to hear you touch on some of the high level technical aspects of your site. One question I had was what mechanism do you use to sync your “write” database with your “read” databases? do you just use SQL Server replication or service broker or..?

    thanks

Leave a Reply

