No Employees for a while.

Well it seems most of the stuff I wanted to hire employees to build has already been built.    I’ve got to see a lot of stuff under NDA the last week and All I can say is there is going to be a major major change to the web and the economics of Online Dating are about to dramatically change.    So for now I’m just going to overspend on tech and buy my way out of any trouble  and maybe hire someone part time to do customer service stuff.

26 Responses to “No Employees for a while.”

  1. JT Says:

    Ah… I’ll bet you were going to impliment that idea of “click here to buy X person flowers”, weren’t you?! So you contextualize affiliate program-type gifts that people could buy each other.

    Fascinating. What a great story to watch. Thanks for sharing this, Markus. (There isn’t room for 2 in this market, then? Too much work to do, too far behind?)

  2. Andy Arnott Says:

    “I’ve got to see a lot of stuff under NDA the last week and All I can say is there is going to be a major major change to the web and the economics of Online Dating are about to dramatically change”

    I’m curious to why you would sign an NDA with anyone is the same market as you. Wouldn’t that tie your hands on any innovation in the space that may infringe on the ideas even remotely?!?! Hmmm….

  3. Markus Says:

    “I’ll bet you were going to impliment that idea of “click here to buy X person flowers”, weren’t you?! ”

    I did that a year ago, it made about $100/day not worth the effort. None of these companies are in my market.

  4. Ryan Says:

    I’m glad you found an out to adding headcount.

    I’d love to know what this major change to the web is. Any hints? Please tell me its not social network related! I’ve about had it with all the facebook hoopla.

  5. projectshave Says:

    You should hire a very good web design firm to improve the look & feel of your dating site. It looks so 1998 right now. Nevertheless, I’m amazed that you can run this site by yourself. Is it because you’re an IT genius, or your competitors are morons?

  6. n Says:

    Is the product going to be sold to the general market eventually, and would you announce on your blog when that happens?

  7. jonathan Says:

    is facebook going to buy you and make fishbook.com?

  8. James Says:

    Wouldn’t it be fishhook.com ?!

  9. Jack Says:

    I used to be an employer and now I’m an employee.

    One thing I’ve vowed is that I never want to personally employ anyone ever again. Think of the burden to your personal life of having a pet to look after. Times this inconvenience by ten; that’s employing staff.

  10. Noel Says:

    One rule I have (and most of us have in the VC community) is I never sign NDA’s. And I have yet to have a prospective investee company not show me their business plan, etc. because of that.

  11. Mark Hankins Says:

    I won’t say I told you so (my 8/7 comment to your proposed hiring plan and organizational structure), but it stood to reason that a solution to dilemmas like yours would be in the offing.

    You could easily outsource your customer service or use a temp or employee leasing agency for it. Keep in mind though that people calling like to hear an accent reasonably close to theirs.

  12. JT Says:

    If you could train 1 or 2 techincal people on how to run your site, that would give you more freedom as well.

    Thanks for letting me know ’bout the “gifts” idea.

  13. catech » Blog Archive » Plenty of Fish one of the largest online dating sites - still one employee Says:

    […] So for now I’m just going to overspend on tech and buy my way out of any trouble and maybe hire someone part time to do customer service stuff. Source: No Employees for a while. […]

  14. PK Says:

    Spend on this.

    Today, a user, late 40s, of POF was at Kinko’s searching, viewing, “making notes” on some profiles. I stopped by and asked him several questions regarding his likes, dislikes, and serious pain points.

    Not to put it all down here, simply the “making notes” was a serious pain and one that can be readily remedied. He told me he would love to be able to write his own “personal” notes on some of the women he reviewed on the website itself so when he has more time he can go over them or even share them (more opportunity here) with his buddies.

    I asked, would it be nice if you could be able to search by these “notes” – he said simply – “son, that would be fantastic”.

    I asked, would it be nice if you could give your buddies these notes by selecting which buddies and vice a versa – “yeah, they tell me about some girl they see that they think I would like and I have to write it all down…it’s a pain in the ass”

    Opportunity, Opportunity…maybe not all done at other places…

    just scratching the surface I would say.

    PK

  15. partition is the key Says:

    how would you buy your way out on the tech side? invest more on the servers? is your website still only running on single web server? a load balancing solution would be cheap way to buy you way out if performance is the issue.

  16. Markus Says:

    PK notes on favorites are already in place.

    When I tried sharing them between users I had 5,000 complaints in the first 10 minutes. People got so insanely mad.

  17. Ryan Says:

    @partition is the key

    I believe he was attempting to address the changing market (ad revenues).

  18. Clearing the Backlog at Oliver Thylmann’s Thoughts Says:

    […] Plentyoffish.com is sticking with no employees for a while with big changes in the online dating market happening it seems. […]

  19. Mike Bowen Says:

    Hey Markus. Regarding PK’s suggestion and your notes to him. The “issue” users have (heck, I’ve had it) is that there was someone I was interested in thinking about further (or even had IM contact with), but didn’t want to put on a favourites list (cuz they can tell). I think the idea that http://www.hotscripts.com has which allows you to append a personal note to each page (program description in their case) would actually be quite useful. For instance, based on forum contributions under another name (which I could remember cuz they had JUST switched) there were people I wanted to remember to NEVER contact. Being able to add that as a private and personal note to a profile would be really useful. And then you’d just have to have a “summary notes” page to let you list profiles you’ve added notes to. I have, in fact, added such a feature (personal comments for each specific web page) for social networking software I’ve written for my research group and we find it quite useful.

  20. Mark Firehammer Says:

    Markus, allow me to show youthe advantage we can offer you by integrating Compatikey into POF. We won’t ask you for a nondisclosure agreement.

  21. PeoBigWig Says:

    An Employee Leasing client is a business or corporation that enters into an Employee Leasing agreement and is assigned shared employees by the Employee Leasing company. Clients can keep their current workforce.

    How does an Employee Leasing arrangement work?

    Once a client contracts with an Employee Leasing company, the Employee Leasing company will then co-employ the client’s current work-site employees. Among the Employee Leasing company, work-site employee, and client employer, there exists a co-employment relationship in which both the Employee Leasing company and client employer have an employment relationship with the worker. The Employee Leasing company and client employer share the responsibilities and liabilities of employees. The Employee Leasing company assumes responsibility and liability for the business of employment such as payroll and taxes, workers compensation, unemployment, employee health benefits and employee compliance. The Employee Leasing client retains responsibility fot the management of employee production, business operations, marketing, sales and service.

    Who uses Employee Leasing?

    The average client of an Employee Leasing company is a smaller business (less than 100 employees), though larger businesses (over 100 employees) find value in the arrangement such as reduced employee health costs. These small business customers include most industry types from accountants to professional sports teams. and every professsion in between.

    You can learn more about employee leasing by visiting http://www.planmarc.com or calling 800-567-0235.

  22. Plenty of Fish largest online dating site in the world - still one employee | A View from the Isle Says:

    […] So for now I’m just going to overspend on tech and buy my way out of any trouble and maybe hire someone part time to do customer service stuff. Source: No Employees for a while. […]

  23. cristaldaisy Says:

    how would you buy your way out on the tech side? invest more on the servers? is your website still only running on single web server? a load balancing solution would be cheap way to buy you way out if performance is the issue.

  24. lindaclawson.ski Says:

    Hello,

    The number of bank employees in the country at the end of the last year was 9,44,620, a marginal rise from the figure of 9,37,445 in 2009, according to the ”Statistical Tables Relating to Banks of India” released by the Reserve Bank.

    Among the total bank employees in 2010, there were 4.70 lakh officers, 3.19 lakh clerks and 1.55 lakh sub-staff.

    While the number of employees in the private sector and public sector lenders went up during the year on an annual basis, the reverse was the case in foreign banks.

    Foreign banks, which are increasing focusing on mechanisation, saw a dip of 6.22 per cent in their employee strength in India to 27,742 in 2010 from 29,582 in the previous year.

    Among the major foreign banks, Standard Chartered was the only exception. It increased its payroll to 7,903 in 2010 from 7825 in the previous year.

    The country”s largest lender, SBI also saw a decline in its headcount to 2,05,896 employees in 2010 from 2,00,299 in 2009. This was a fall of 2.79 per cent.
    __________________
    linda

    Lease a Car

  25. http://www.loveforboth.com Says:

    Fewer the employees, better it is

  26. thepilatesbiz Says:

    I am speechless. This is a excellent weblog and really attractive too. Nice paintings! Thats no longer truly much coming from an beginner publisher like me, nevertheless its all I may just say after diving into your posts. Nice grammar and vocabulary. Now not like other blogs. You actually understand what you?re talking about too. So much that you simply made me want to explore more. Your blog has transform a stepping stone for me, my friend.

Leave a Reply

