Plentyoffish Passes 1 Billion emails and 2 Billion matches.

I saw this post from eharmony this morning showing 1 billion matches since 2000.    Pof passed  1 Billion emails this weekend at Idate in London,   we also passed 2 Billion matches generated by our matching system since 2005 or so.   Stay tuned for  2 major press releases in the coming weeks,  both of which will have a major impact on the industry.

9 Responses to “Plentyoffish Passes 1 Billion emails and 2 Billion matches.”

  1. FunkySouth Says:

    jeee these numbers are just crazy. How do you cope with 1 billion emails ?

    Do they get deleted afetr a month ? This must be a headache to keep scale.

  2. Markus Says:

    Yup all the emails get nuked after 30 days, but even that is far to long.

  3. Notouch Says:

    Oh my god. I just signup to Plentyoffish.

  4. himagain Says:

    Hi Markus,
    I’ve lived with the monster lies of the ‘Net since before it had a name. Lost a lot of $$ believing “official” statistics about users out there.
    Finally it seems to be actually happening. I’d like to go back and try again.
    You mentioned getting a lot of help as a Newby from an early support site for which you were grateful.

    Where does one go today for a little reality?

    E.G. How on earth did you run a large (by real world figures) system on a single Server?
    My own test runs have crashed not just Shared Servers but a dedicated box (admittedly small) and cost me money I couldn’t afford to lose.

    Please – where and how can I find out what sort of equipment and pipes are needed for even 10,000 visitors a day – similar to your demands – but no video.

    I can afford one last shot at my age and stage and while I don’t expect to be another POF, I do need to be able to get to …. 1% of that traffic?

    Cheers!

  5. Jordan Says:

    What happened to the big news?

  6. Rhonda Says:

    I’m curious as to how many of the self proclaimed 2 billion matches are accurate matches?

    I’ve personally been a member of that site for over three years and I receive the matches on a monthly basis – none of them are actual matches to me and they are incessantly duplicated each month.

    Additionally, the search engine on the site is sorely lacking in any true detail so finding a match along this venue is next to impossible.

    Fortunately, I’ve never limited myself to the systems that are pre-programmed by error prone people.

    Personally, I think the big news is a big crock: propaganda to promote a lackluster site that’s only use is the forums, and even those have been deteriorating in the site owner’s constant quest for totalitarianistic power.

  7. TDZ Says:

    He’s not running this one “1″ server. A linux server can handle 50k members, 30k optimal per server before it starts to suffer under load. Instead, this is a server cluster (multiple server machines). Basically you need to go buy the machines or lease them from a host company and monitor your system resources.

    I’m in the process of launching, running 2 full servers. One for my member database/site & the second is purely for a media type server that runs IM’s/Chat/Video/Music & so on.

  8. Brian Says:

    Markus – Read your article in Jan/Feb 2009 Inc. – was very intrigued by your approach. We’re launching our site based on a similar premise but for coupons not dating. Would love to hear more about some of your inside success stories…

  9. Fish Killer Says:

    Hey Marcus what are you doing about the serial killer on your fish site that has been killing women. How is it that its not all over the place yet. Your system sucks and it can not stay free forever. You will be forced to charge a fee to stop these maniacs from killing again. I recommend a paid service. Marcus is only init for the money the ads provide for him. I have met marcus in person years back and he really needs to do something before he finds himself in a bad place.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

