We are hiring more programmers.

http://vancouver.en.craigslist.ca/van/eng/1539090435.html

We are looking to hire more local programmers.    We have billions of impressions a month on plentyoffish,  and now we are serving billions of impressions a month through our self serve ad platform.     We need more programmers  as we start building things i’ve wanted to build for years!    The job is challenging and we are looking for smart programmers who are comfortable working at a scale you won’t find anywhere else in vancouver.  Send us an email if you have what it takes.

39 Responses to “We are hiring more programmers.”

  1. David Says:

    Hey Markus,

    Looks like Plenty of Fish is doing awesome! Great to hear. Thank you for being an inspiration and Happy New Year to you and your family : )

    David

  2. Rush Says:

    Local candidates only?

  3. Allan Caesar III Says:

    Dude.. why am i constantly getting my profile deleted within 30 minutes of joining!? im sick of this.. i just want to meet a good woman. Why are you doing this to me? =(

  4. Judy Says:

    Markus, I have been trying to reach you with some realllllly exciting, new, innovative ideas for POF…
    If you could implement them, you could have domination in the online dating field, and create the first and only, unprecedented all-inclusive and thus exclusive daing website, blowing your competition “out of the water” so to speak…
    I am poppel on POF or you can email me at poppel161@aol.com for more info…
    I have more great ideas for other free and exciting interactive websites…
    I want to share them with you, because of your altruistic actions in starting a totally 100% free dating website, and I can’t thank you enough…Judy

  5. lucy Says:

    Who do I contact to let u know about a person that contct me thru pof n it. Was a scammer frm nijeria u may. Want to delete that person from pof

  6. Myrtis Brosnahan Says:

    That was pretty interesting ready

  7. Programmer Says:

    Your Craigslist ad has been deleted.
    Therefore, no remuneration or other info is available to candidates.
    I’ve heard you pay very little though.
    I’m not cheap.
    But maybe you’ve already found your programmers.
    It’s up to you to contact me if you’re interested.

    PS. Since English obviously isn’t your mother tongue, feel free to write in whatever language you know best. If it’s one I don’t know, I’ll get a friend to help translate. Thanks.

  8. Dustin Says:

    I really hope that your programmer ad will bring in some people who aren’t complete idiots when it comes to user experience. The navigation is probably the worst I’ve ever seen (example: To find out what users are in my city, I first have to click on “View my profile” and THEN and only then does the “My City” link show up.) Also, when you put in an incorrect username or password, it just refreshes the page and you’re left frustrated! As if the dating world isn’t hard enough! Also, so I contacted someone who was looking for an intimate encounter…now I can’t talk to certain people? Wow…Marcus, it’s a good thing that your site is free because its design and programming is LAUGHABLE.

    • Jeffrey Says:

      Just a reaction to Justin’s rant. I think the policy of not being able to contact certain users if you’re someone who has contacted other users who are looking for ‘intimate encounters’ is really just a policy of ‘live and let live’. It’s not the owner, Marcus, who blocks you from contacting certain users, it’s the other users who have chosen the option of blocking you. It’s your choice to seek intimate encounters, and Marcus certainly seems willing to accomodate your preference. Rather than relying on users to reveal that they have sought intimate encounters on his site, Marcus has given everyone that joins his site the option of steering clear of those users who would seek intimate encounters. As for the site being LAUGHABLE. That design and programming serves the largest dating site in the world, free and paid combined (I believe). Would that I could design and programme as bad as that.

    • Greg Says:

      You have to initiate contact with four users looking for Intimate Encounters before you are labeled as someone seeking intimate encounters.

      My wish is that he would ditch all the legacy html and use stylesheets. That way at least we could make it look decent on our own if we chose.

  9. Andrew Brown Says:

    Is POF user experience really that bad?

    Ok Cupid is very aesthetic but all of its non essentials features gets in the way of what your trying to achieve which is 1-to-1 interaction with people you want to date, meet-up, etc..

    Is it really worth it for the POF company to back-peddle for thee months upgrading the aesthetics of the website? I don’t think it will change the functionality of the website or bring more traffic.

    The better question is, is there a disadvantage to improving the UI and aesthetics? The website is ugly and it also sets the users expectations to be low. They are under-doing the competition. If they made the design easier to go through matches than maybe a user would blast through all their options and not return.

  10. Dustin Says:

    Of course improving the aesthetics of the site wouldn’t improve the functionality because aesthetics has nothing to do with functionality. I’m talking about the overall architecture of the site and the horrible backend. It’s unfortunate that most people are used to bad design and put up with it but the fact is, there are certain things people expect when going to a website such as when you aren’t able to log in to a site, that an error message appears. It makes for a confusing user experience when you don’t get that error message. I’m not concerned about the site’s aesthetics (although it is a very bad looking site) but improving the overall user experience and backend would be a huge step in the right direction for the site. Sometimes ugly/mediocre visuals work because the design works. That is good design.

  11. Fish Killer Says:

    Hey Marcus what are you doing about the serial killer on your fish site that has been killing women. How is it that its not all over the place yet. Your system sucks and it can not stay free forever. You will be forced to charge a fee to stop these maniacs from killing again. I recommend a paid service. Marcus is only init for the money the ads provide for him. I have met marcus in person years back and he really needs to do something before he finds himself in a bad place.

    • Adam LaCombe Says:

      Marcus can’t do anything about it..
      He is just a guy who made a website for people to use. Yeah he is in it for the money made by publishing ads.. who isn’t who owns a website?
      A serial killer could access any ones site.. their just another user like you and me.
      Now I’m sure he has already done what he should do which would be to remove his account and block his IP, but trust me if that guy wants to get on plentyoffish.com all he has to do is change his IP. That doesn’t take much smarts to do so either.
      So don’t be disin Marcus.

  12. David M Says:

    Is this really Markus’ Blog? I am trying to contact him. I am a local Vancouver IT-preneur that has a new venture that splices into his advertising. My buddy used to live in his building… anyone know how to get a hold of him?

  13. Developer Says:

    Do you interested in remote developers?

    http://www.scribd.com/doc/41828509/Remote-Delphi-Presentation

  14. devlet hastaneleri Says:

    We need more programmers as we start building things i’ve wanted to build for years! The job is challenging and we are looking for smart programmers who are comfortable working at a scale you won’t find anywhere else in vancouver. Send us an email if you have what it takes.

  15. devlet hastaneleri Says:

    We need more programmers as we start building things i’ve wanted to build for years! The job is challenging and we are looking for smart programmers who are comfortable working at a scale you won’t find

  16. plastik Says:

    mart programmers who are comfortable working at a scale you won’t find anywhere else in vancouver. Send us an email if you have what it takes

  17. yer kaplamasi Says:

    only init for the money the ads provide for him. I have met marcus in person years back and he really needs to do something before he finds himself in a bad pla

  18. kimya Says:

    field, and create the first and only, unprecedented all-inclusive and thus exclusive daing website, blowing your competition “out of the water” so to speak…

  19. banka rehberi Says:

    My buddy used to live in his building… anyone know how to get a hold of him?

  20. bad-accessoires Says:

    The job is challenging and we are looking for smart programmers who are comfortable working at a scale you won’t find anywhere else in vancouver. Send us an email if you have what it takes.

  21. mantolama izolasyon Says:

    You know the demographics so run w/ it and make your millions

  22. rehau Says:

    who are comfortable working at a scale you won’t find anywhere else in vancouver. Send us an email if you have what it takes

  23. carolyn Says:

    Hi Markus…I hope this is you. I am a songwriter. I wrote a song with POF in mind that I think it will be a great theme song for POF (you can even stream it on your site). If you receive this and are interested, please email me at carolynredford@yahoo.com and I would love to share my idea with you.

    Best,

    Carolyn A. Redford

  24. dunya rehberi Says:

    and create the first and only, unprecedented all-inclusive and thus exclusive daing website, blowing your competition “out of the water” so to

  25. sorgula sorgulama Says:

    Chemistry, True, eHarmony, PerfectMatch, Be2, Parship, Meetic and other

  26. toyota çıkma parça Says:

    Çıkma yedek toyota parçalarını bütün modellerin her çeşit parçalarını

  27. hasan burkay Says:

    continually move right t

  28. pleksi Says:

    shares in this blog is really nice, actually,
    I no longer have to follow the internet world
    of blogs to take advantage of this style, I would
    like to set up a site, but recently I tried I could
    not have a friend View a school he did not know, but
    my room will help me more to move forward on cı I’m
    jealous already kurmayacağım also …

  29. kolonyali mendil Says:

    yes your site is really wonderful people have been searching for other web sites you’ve found it is getting very relieved to sweat, my eyes until my uncle no longer flows out of sleep refreshing towels cursor would follow you.

  30. mermerci Says:

    […] Are Magazines Doomed, Too?A post from BuzzMachine about the future of magazine publishing. […]

  31. pimapenci Says:

    its very nice and amazing project.

  32. Robbi Spencer Says:

    Hey Marcus, after dedicating my dating book to you, sales have gone through the roof! Thank you for being bold enough to say what needs to be said and for being a dick when necessary. A lot of people do not understand you, but I certainly do! I hope all is well with you.

    I just wanted to share a video that my wife and I just made. We met on Plenty of Fish in 2005 and though she ran from me for several years, she is now by my side and we are writing music together and making videos together and it is just really exciting to know that LOVE really does exist!!! Please watch my video if you can and have a great day!

    Robbi

  33. hastane otomasyonu Says:

    you issues in this sense is obviously a very good site is full suits me very carefully, but with are more intensive follow-up will have mixed commentss and are you teacher mothers ?

  34. pimapen Says:

    Burada Seo halkları thanke. hause

  35. tabelaci Says:

    Burada Seo halkları thanke. hause

  36. kis bahcesi Says:

    Burada Seo halkları thanke. hause

Leave a Reply

