OKCupid bought…

IAC bought Okcupid.com for $50 million in their third attempt to get into the free/freemium dating market. Congrats to the okc team.    I think its the first free dating site acquired.   No word yet  if Dave Evans gets to keep his office at okcupid.

Match paid a insane ebitda multiple for the company if you apply the same multiple to POF and Badoo we’d have a billion dollar valuations each.   The market has been in a massive state of flux the last year and will continue to be so this year.

19 Responses to “OKCupid bought…”

  1. relaxedguy Says:

    Match didn’t pay enough if you ask me. There are facts like ebitda and there are opportunities, strategies and lets not forget that there are 60 million singles in the US that are dying to try dating that nobody has been able to reach yet.

    The deal wasn’t about revenue or traffic it was about opportunities and getting access to really smart people.

  2. Brian Says:

    I agree this was a high price in terms of a revenue or earnings multiple. I am seeing OKCupid took 6M Series A in 2007 so this seems like a great sale 4 years later.

  3. Harry Says:

    We’ll see how this enfolds.

  4. dm412 Says:

    That you are so brazenly unapologetic to your user base for practicing such shoddy security practices is hilarious.

    You could have immediately warned your users of a security breach, provided a courteous apology, explained the basic nature of the breach and the steps you hake taken to correct the problem(s), and finally offered a guarantee that you would make every effort to prevent any such breaches in the future.

    Instead: “Waa waa! Some guy is leaving me voice messages! A reporter called me! Waa waa! Russians! Mafia! Waa waa! I will spend my time on Facebook instead of caring for my users! Waa waa! I talked to someone’s mom! Now I am too tired from crying, so I will not help my 30 million users until I am not tired! Waaaaaaaaaa!”

    Next Day: “Oh hai, my website should value at ONE BILLION DOLLAR! I AM SUCH COOL PERSON!”

    If a legitimate business finds out that their user accounts have been compromised, I’m sure they would completely agree with you that the #1 priority is to complain in a blog and email some guy’s mom.

  5. Dave Perez Says:

    $50 million valutation for OKcupid.com implies:

    >$200 million valuation for POF just based on UVs
    >$256 million valuation for POF just based on Visits

    http://siteanalytics.compete.com/okcupid.com+plentyoffish.com/

  6. rob Says:

    Hi- I like your website and have had an account for several years but suddenly the site asked me to change my password which I was have been unable to do. My screen name is funguy4120. Can you or someone tell me how to correct this problem. I can be reached at my e-mail address above.
    Thanks,
    Rob

  7. hi Says:

    The primary reason that anlytics are better than ranking reports is the information provided by where and how users leave the page/buy proposition. Those can provide indications of the buyers decision to take an action. Think of the buying decision as a funnel with the entry and exit/purchase forming the top and bottom.

  8. Dating Savvy Says:

    From a business point of view, in terms of spreading your risk across different market segments this makes sense and highlights the fact that IAC do consider it a risk if they do not secure themselves a piece of the ‘free dating site’ market. And yes, congrats to the OkCupid team!

  9. a blogger Says:

    Congrats Okc Teams😉 ! great jobs

  10. amy @ as seen on tv canada Says:

    have never heard of okcupid.com but want to give it a try now. 50 million sounds like a hell of a lot of money for a site i’ve never heard of. Good for them!

  11. Mike Says:

    Way to go okcupid! Question for you: when you started POF what was your advertising budget for the first year? It seems like it just continues to grow uncontrollably. I was wondering if it was more due to free traffic and word of mouth or advertising?

  12. fhhj Says:

    very useful ilookjlkj

  13. nfljerseyzj (@nfljerseyzj) Says:

    Green Bay Packers (also known as The Pack) were established in 1919. The official team colors of the Green Bay Packers uniforms are Dark Green, Athletic Gold, White. The official online NFL Shop offers
    . Our latest apparel range consists of Clay Matthews Jerseyand more clothing and fan merchandise. Exclusive products and gear from Reebok, Mitchell & Ness and other brands coupled with exclusive online discounts and fast shipping make the official online store of the NFL your ideal source for Green Bay Packers clothes and merchandise. We have the largest selection of Green Bay Packers products on the Internet!

  14. weultras.com Says:

    weultras.com…

    […]OKCupid bought… « Plenty of fish blog[…]…

  15. computer repair fulerton,computer repair orange county,computer support, reparacion de computadoras Says:

    computer repair fulerton,computer repair orange county,computer support, reparacion de computadoras…

    […]OKCupid bought… « Plenty of fish blog[…]…

  16. global internet solutions|social media marketing in usa|social media marketing in california|online marketing solutions in canada|quinte web design|quinte online marketing services|social media marketing in canada|social media marketing in ontario|London Says:

    global internet solutions|social media marketing in usa|social media marketing in california|online marketing solutions in canada|quinte web design|quinte online marketing services|social media marketing in canada|social media marketing in ontario|Lo…

    […]OKCupid bought… « Plenty of fish blog[…]…

  17. Kwejk Says:

    Amazing things here. I’m very happy to see your article. Thank you a lot and I’m taking a look ahead to contact you.
    Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  18. seth Says:

    plz can someone help me I regestered 4 times and took all those test things and my account keeps getting deleted and it wont even let me contact customer care any suggestions and it lets be be on for only 1 hr

Leave a Reply

